Sample Foundation EIN 46-1631186

Sample Foundation FY2023 filing

EIN  46-1631186 Private foundation / grantmaker Shreveport, LA
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2023 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Sample Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Shreveport, LA. It reported about $33K in revenue for 2022.
Money in and out
$33K revenue, $39K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Shreveport, LA. It reported about $33K in revenue for 2022. For fiscal year 2023 it reported $33K in revenue, $39K in expenses, and $644K in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2023
Total revenue
$33K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$39K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$644K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$6K
Total assets
644K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
36K
in FY2023
Grants made
16grants
total in period
Payout rate
6%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 16 grants · $52K · 2024–2024
St Mark's CathedralWA · FY2024$15,000
Shreveport Garden Study ClubLA · FY2024$11,700
St Mark's Recotr's FundFY2024$10,000
Caddo Council on AgingLA · FY2024$2,000
YMCA of Nw LouisianaFY2024$1,000
Werla - Wildlife Rehabeducation of LaFY2024$1,000
Volunteers of American North LaFY2024$1,000
The Generals RedoubtVA · FY2024$1,000
Port City Cat RescueLA · FY2024$1,000
Ducks UnlimitedFY2024$1,000
Bonefish & Tarpon Trust INCFL · FY2024$1,000
American Battlefield TrustFY2024$1,000
Woodberry Forest SchoolVA · FY2024$150

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV10
Average grantPart XV$3K
Median grantPart XV$1K
Largest grantPart XV$15K
Top cause focusNTEEArts & Culture (19%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$33K
FY2023▼ -20%
Expenses
$39K
FY2023▼ -2%
Total assets
$644K
FY2023▼ -1%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2023
Total revenue
$33K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$39K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$644K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$644K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CSample Foundation
EINHdr · item D46-1631186
Principal addressHdr · item CShreveport, LA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MLA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFAnimals (D99)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJun 2014

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Sample Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$33K
Total revenueLn 12$33K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.94 Operating & administrative $0.06
Grants & contributions paid94%$36K
Operating & administrative6%$2K
Total functional expensesLn 25$39K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$5K
Total assetsLn 16$644K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$644K
Months of cash on handcomputed1.6

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $644K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $33K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $33K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $33K · Prior year $41K
-20%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $644K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $33K · Expenses $39K
-17%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $644K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $644K · Total assets $644K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $39K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -20%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$55K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$288K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$33K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$41K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$35K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$34K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.