K2 Charitable Foundation EIN 46-1208733

K2 Charitable Foundation FY2023 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Urbandale, IA. It reported about $1.2M in revenue for 2023. For fiscal year 2023 it reported $1.2M in revenue, $1.6M in expenses, and $4.7M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Urbandale, IA
Filings
6 on file (2020–2023)
Revenue
$1.2MFY2023
Expenses
$1.6M
Net assets
$4.7M
People
6
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  46-1208733 Private foundation / grantmaker Urbandale, IA
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2023 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until K2 Charitable Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$1–10M
What they do
A private foundation based in Urbandale, IA. It reported about $1.2M in revenue for 2023.
Leadership
Kenneth L Smith · President
Money in and out
$1.2M revenue, $1.6M expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2023
Total revenue
$1.2M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$1.6M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$4.7M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$366K
Total assets
4.7M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
1.5M
in FY2023
Grants made
16grants
total in period
Payout rate
32%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 16 grants · $2.1M · 2025–2025
Haiti Christian Development FundFY2025$1,032,500
New Horizons MinistriesFY2025$407,500
Freedom for YouthFY2025$269,000
Agape Pregnancy Resource CenterFY2025$150,000
Open Bible ChurchFY2025$82,000
John & Vera Mae Perkins FoundationFY2025$67,500
JoppaFY2025$40,000
Leader SourceFY2025$35,000
The Mendenhall MinistriesFY2025$25,000
Scalpel at the CrossFY2025$20,000
Variety - the Childrens Charity of IowaFY2025$2,000
Holy Cross ChurchFY2025$2,000
Des Moines Refugee SupportFY2025$2,000
Hidden Acres Christian CenterFY2025$2,000
Fellowship of Christian AthletesFY2025$1,500
Joshua Christian AcademyFY2025$500

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$134K
Median grantPart XV$35K
Largest grantPart XV$1.0M

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$1.2M
FY2023▲ +44%
Expenses
$1.6M
FY2023▲ +26%
Total assets
$4.7M
FY2023▼ -7%
Total liabilities
$20K
FY2023▲ +111%
Total revenue
$1.2M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$1.6M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$4.7M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$4.7M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CK2 Charitable Foundation
EINHdr · item D46-1208733
Principal addressHdr · item CUrbandale, IA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MIA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJul 2013

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See K2 Charitable Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$768K · 62%
Contributions & grants$368K · 30%
Other revenue$96K · 8%
Investment income62%$768K
Contributions & grants30%$368K
Other revenue8%$96K
Total revenueLn 12$1.2M

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.94 Operating & administrative $0.06
Grants & contributions paid94%$1.5M
Operating & administrative6%$91K
Total functional expensesLn 25$1.6M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$437K
Total assetsLn 16$4.7M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$20K
Total net assetsLn 32$4.7M
Months of cash on handcomputed3.3

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $4.7M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $1.2M
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $1.2M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $1.2M · Prior year $855K
+44%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $4.7M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $1.2M · Expenses $1.6M
-30%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $4.7M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $4.7M · Total assets $4.7M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Kenneth L Smith · Reported title PRESIDENT · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $1.6M
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 44%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$2.8M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$2.2M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$1.2M revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$855K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$243K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$287K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.