Cohesion Dance Project EIN 45-5088857

Cohesion Dance Project FY2021 filing

EIN  45-5088857 Public charity (501(c)(3)) Helena, MT Founded 2012
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Cohesion Dance Project claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Enriches, inspires, and unites the community through dance performances and educational experiences for all.
Leadership
Tanya Call · Artistic Director · $21K
Money in and out
$149K revenue
Bottom line
10.8mo operating runway

Enriches, inspires, and unites the community through dance performances and educational experiences for all. For fiscal year 2021 it reported $149K in revenue, in expenses, and $28K in net assets.Pt I

Where the money goes · FY2021
Total revenue
$149K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$28K
Pt X · Ln 32
Operating runway
10.8mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate
Surplus margin
+7%
revenue over expenses, this year
Donor-funded
71%
of revenue is gifts & grants

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990-EZ
Revenue
$149K
FY2021▼ -2%
Expenses
FY2021
Total assets
FY2021
Total liabilities
$96K
FY2021
Total revenue
$149K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$28K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3pending
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CCohesion Dance Project
EINHdr · item D45-5088857
Principal addressHdr · item CHelena, MT
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.cohesiondance.org
Year of formationHdr · item L2012
State of legal domicileHdr · item MMT
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFArts & Culture (A62)
Ruling yearIRS BMFMay 2013

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2020); the FY2021 filing did not itemize Part VII
Artistic Director
$21,150Pt VII · Sec A
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Tanya Call’s $16K as Artistic Director is at the 12th percentile of top reported officer pay among 2213 $100K–1M arts & culture nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 2 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2024FY2023FY2021FY2020
Maleen Olson$40,824
Tanya Call$16,228$30,000$30,000$21,150$16,994

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Cohesion Dance Project executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue100%$149K
Total revenueLn 12$149K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16
Total liabilitiesLn 26$96K
Total net assetsLn 32$28K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $124K · Operating expenses/yr $138K
10.8 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $106K · Total revenue $149K
71%
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $26K · Total revenue $149K
17%
Investment reliance
Investment income $18K · Total revenue $149K
+12%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $26K · Total expenses $138K
19%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $149K · Prior year $153K
-2%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $28K · Beginning of year $18K
+61%
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $149K · Expenses $138K
+7%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities $96K · Total assets $125K
77%
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $28K · Total assets $125K
23%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Tanya Call · Reported title ARTISTIC DIRECTOR · Highest reported compensation $21K · Total expenses $138K
15%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits $75K · Total expenses $138K
54%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -2%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2024
Total grants receivedfrom 1 funder$2K

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Cohesion Dance Project →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024$249K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$186K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$159K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$149K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$153K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.