Calm Foundation EIN 45-3337097

Calm Foundation FY2020 filing

EIN  45-3337097 Private foundation / grantmaker Colorado Springs, CO
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2020 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Calm Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Colorado Springs, CO. It reported about $395K in revenue for 2020.
Money in and out
$395K revenue, $65K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Colorado Springs, CO. It reported about $395K in revenue for 2020. For fiscal year 2020 it reported $395K in revenue, $65K in expenses, and $1.1M in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2020
Total revenue
$395K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$65K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.1M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $330K
Total assets
1.1M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
49K
in FY2020
Grants made
14grants
total in period
Payout rate
4%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 14 grants · $66K · 2025–2025
Early ConnectionsFY2025$10,000
Yu Ming Charter SchoolFY2025$10,000
Concrete CouchFY2025$7,500
Youth Documentary AcademyFY2025$7,500
Colorado HumanitiesFY2025$5,000
Brave Irene'sFY2025$5,000
Cu FoundationFY2025$4,000
Rocky Mtn Women's Film FestivalFY2025$3,500
KrccFY2025$3,000
Rocky Mountain PBSFY2025$3,000
Moxley StudioFY2025$2,500
Sun Mountain TaikoFY2025$2,500
Miss JuneteenthFY2025$2,000
Pikes Peak Athletics FoundationFY2025$1,000

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$5K
Median grantPart XV$4K
Largest grantPart XV$10K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$395K
FY2020
Expenses
$65K
FY2020
Total assets
$1.1M
FY2020
Total liabilities
$0
FY2020
Total revenue
$395K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$65K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.1M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$1.1M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CCalm Foundation
EINHdr · item D45-3337097
Principal addressHdr · item CColorado Springs, CO
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCO
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFFeb 2012

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Calm Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue$201K · 51%
Contributions & grants$150K · 38%
Investment income$44K · 11%
Other revenue51%$201K
Contributions & grants38%$150K
Investment income11%$44K
Total revenueLn 12$395K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.75 Operating & administrative $0.25
Grants & contributions paid75%$49K
Operating & administrative25%$16K
Total functional expensesLn 25$65K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16$1.1M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$1.1M

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $1.1M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $395K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $395K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $395K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $1.1M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $395K · Expenses $65K
+84%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $1.1M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $1.1M · Total assets $1.1M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $65K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown. Peer cohort: .

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$94K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$138K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$103K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$179K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$326K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$395K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.

Pay it forward
Keep 990 Scout free for the next person.

Better charities, better world. There is no paywall here and nothing to unlock: what you pay covers the next person's lookup.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.