Learning by Giving Foundation INC EIN 45-2324555 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Learning by Giving Foundation INC

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Boston, MA. It reported about $1.7M in revenue for 2023. For fiscal year 2023 it reported $1.7M in revenue, $296K in expenses.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Nonprofit
Location
Boston, MA
Website
www.learnbygivingfoundation.org
Filings
6 on file (2018–2023)
Revenue
$1.7MFY2023
Expenses
$296K
Net assets
$0
People
3
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  45-2324555 Private foundation / grantmaker Boston, MA
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Figures match the IRS filing checked 9/14/26 · see original: IRS
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Learning by Giving Foundation INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$1–10M
What they do
A private foundation based in Boston, MA. It reported about $1.7M in revenue for 2023.
Leadership
Alex Rozek · President
Money in and out
$1.7M revenue, $296K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2023
Total revenue
$1.7M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$296K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$0
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $1.4M
Grants paid
123K
in FY2023
Grants made
26grants
total in period

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 26 grants · $123K · 2023–2023
The MetropolitanFY2023$10,947
Sg Real EstateFY2023$10,004
N'Fungola Sibo African Dance & Drum Company INCFY2023$7,000
Honoring Individual Power & Strength HipsFY2023$7,000
University of North Carolina Chapel HillFY2023$5,000
Resist INCMA · FY2023$5,000
Ohio UniversityOH · FY2023$5,000
Justice 4 Housing INCFY2023$5,000
Georgetown UniversityDC · FY2023$5,000
Uc BerkeleyFY2023$4,950
Silver Lining Mentoring INCMA · FY2023$3,000
Make Music NolaLA · FY2023$3,000
The Center for Children & FamiliesFY2023$2,500
See all 26 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV15
Average grantPart XV$5K
Median grantPart XV$5K
Largest grantPart XV$11K
Top cause focusNTEEHuman Services (8%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$1.7M
FY2023▲ +782%
Expenses
$296K
FY2023▼ -39%
Total assets
$0
FY2023▼ -100%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2023
Total revenue
$1.7M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$296K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$0
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$0

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CLearning by Giving Foundation INC
EINHdr · item D45-2324555
Principal addressHdr · item CBoston, MA
State of legal domicileHdr · item MMA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFpending

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2021); the FY2023 filing did not itemize Part VII
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Learning by Giving Foundation INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$1.5M · 93%
Contributions & grants$113K · 7%
Investment income93%$1.5M
Contributions & grants7%$113K
Other revenue$418
Total revenueLn 12$1.7M

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.41 Operating & administrative $0.59
Grants & contributions paid41%$123K
Operating & administrative59%$173K
Total functional expensesLn 25$296K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16$0
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$0

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $0
Foundation payout rate (grants ÷ total assets); 5% minimum-distribution rule
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $1.7M
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $1.7M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $1.7M · Prior year $187K
+782%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $0 · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $1.7M · Expenses $296K
+82%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $0
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $0 · Total assets $0
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $296K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 782%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2023 (Latest)$1.7M revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$187K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$481K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$30K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2019$300K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2018$-5K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.