Thomson Charitable Foundation EIN 42-1497057

Thomson Charitable Foundation

EIN  42-1497057 Private foundation / grantmaker Cresco, IA
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Thomson Charitable Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Cresco, IA. It reported about $410K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
John S Thomson · Director/President/Treasurer
Money in and out
$410K revenue, $214K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Cresco, IA. It reported about $410K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $410K in revenue, $214K in expenses, and $2.6M in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$410K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$214K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$2.6M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $196K
Total assets
2.6M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
181K
in FY2025
Grants made
30grants
total in period
Payout rate
7%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 30 grants · $177K · 2025–2025
City of CrescoFY2025$50,750
Norman-Borlaug Heritage FoundationFY2025$35,000
Floyd County Fair SocietyFY2025$25,000
Northeast Iowa Community College FoundationFY2025$20,000
Northeast Iowa Food BankFY2025$6,000
Shriners Childrens HospitalFY2025$5,250
Cresco Elm Street RentalsFY2025$5,000
St Jude Children Research HospitalFY2025$5,000
Notre Dame Catholic ParishFY2025$5,000
Wartburg CollegeFY2025$5,000
Howard County Agrl SocietyFY2025$4,100
Howard County Business and TourismFY2025$1,500
Howard County Community Schools FoundationFY2025$1,400
Fellowship of Christian AthletesFY2025$1,000
Covenant House InternationalFY2025$1,000
Midwest Mission Teens MbtcFY2025$1,000
Opportunity Homes INCFY2025$1,000
Oaklawn Cemetery Association of Cresco IaFY2025$1,000
See all 30 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$6K
Median grantPart XV$1K
Largest grantPart XV$51K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$410K
FY2025▼ -7%
Expenses
$214K
FY2025▲ +39%
Total assets
$2.6M
FY2025▼ -5%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$410K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$214K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$2.6M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$2.6M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CThomson Charitable Foundation
EINHdr · item D42-1497057
Principal addressHdr · item CCresco, IA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MIA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 2000

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Director/President/Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director/Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Thomson Charitable Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$324K · 79%
Investment income$86K · 21%
Contributions & grants79%$324K
Investment income21%$86K
Total revenueLn 12$410K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.85 Operating & administrative $0.15
Grants & contributions paid85%$181K
Operating & administrative15%$33K
Total functional expensesLn 25$214K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$1.1M
Total assetsLn 16$2.6M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$2.6M
Months of cash on handcomputed62.5

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $2.6M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $410K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $410K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $410K · Prior year $439K
-7%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $69K · FY2025 $410K
+43%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $2.6M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $410K · Expenses $214K
+48%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $2.6M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $2.6M · Total assets $2.6M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual John S Thomson · Reported title Director/President/Treasurer · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $214K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -7%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$410K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$439K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$63K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$54K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$80K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$69K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.