Bertha Stebens Charitable Foundation EIN 42-1280907 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Bertha Stebens Charitable Foundation

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Wilmington, DE. It reported about $148K in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $148K in revenue, $190K in expenses, and $3.3M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Nonprofit
Location
Wilmington, DE
Filings
6 on file (2020–2025)
Revenue
$148KFY2025
Expenses
$190K
Net assets
$3.3M
People
3
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  42-1280907 Private foundation / grantmaker Wilmington, DE
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Bertha Stebens Charitable Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Wilmington, DE. It reported about $148K in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Todd Blodgett · Dir, Sec
Money in and out
$148K revenue, $190K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$148K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$190K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.3M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$42K
Total assets
3.3M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
143K
in FY2025
Grants made
39grants
total in period
Payout rate
4%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 39 grants · $143K · 2024–2024
Community Kitchen of North IowaFY2024$6,000
Mercy Medical Center Foundation North IowaFY2024$5,600
Stebens Childrens TheatreIA · FY2024$5,000
Stebens Childrens TheatreIA · FY2024$5,000
North Iowa Area Community College FoundationFY2024$5,000
Elderbridge Agency on AgingIA · FY2024$5,000
Caring Pregnancy CenterFY2024$5,000
North Iowa Vocational Center INCFY2024$4,000
Habitat for Humanity International INCFY2024$4,000
Girl Scouts of Greater IowaIA · FY2024$4,000
City of Mason CityFY2024$3,500
See all 39 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV21
Average grantPart XV$4K
Median grantPart XV$3K
Largest grantPart XV$8K
Top cause focusNTEEHuman Services (10%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$148K
FY2025▲ +38%
Expenses
$190K
FY2025▼ -1%
Total assets
$3.3M
FY2025▼ -1%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$148K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$190K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.3M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$3.3M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CBertha Stebens Charitable Foundation
EINHdr · item D42-1280907
Principal addressHdr · item CWilmington, DE
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MDE
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFApr 1987

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2024); the FY2025 filing did not itemize Part VII
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Dir, Pres
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Dir, Treas, VP
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Bertha Stebens Charitable Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$148K
Total revenueLn 12$148K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.75 Operating & administrative $0.25
Grants & contributions paid75%$143K
Operating & administrative25%$47K
Total functional expensesLn 25$190K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$75K
Total assetsLn 16$3.3M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$3.3M
Months of cash on handcomputed4.8

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $3.3M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $148K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $148K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $148K · Prior year $108K
+38%
Revenue CAGR
FY2019 $160K · FY2024 $148K
-2%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $3.3M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $148K · Expenses $190K
-28%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $3.3M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $3.3M · Total assets $3.3M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Todd Blodgett · Reported title Dir, Sec · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $190K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 38%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$148K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$108K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$-39K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$178K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$183K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$160K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.