Hartz Foundation

Claim it free, then get the verified mark Claim this org →
EIN 41-6041638 Private foundation / grantmaker Thief River Falls, MN
Form 990 (PDF)

Is this your organization? Claim it free

Revenue & expenses by yearFY2020–FY2024
Revenue
$126K
FY2024▼ -10%
Expenses
$224K
FY2024▲ +24%

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending December 2024 (IRS tax year 2024).


A private foundation based in Thief River Falls, MN. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $126K in revenue, $224K in expenses, and $2.4M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Nonprofit
Location
Thief River Falls, MN
Filings
5 on file (2020–2024)
Revenue
$126KFY2024
Expenses
$224K
Net assets
$2.4M
People
6
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Compare with another nonprofit →
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Hartz Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Thief River Falls, MN.
Leadership
Karmon Trontvet · Executive Director and Board Member · $3K
Money in and out
$126K revenue, $224K expenses
Bottom line
—

What Funders Ask

6 questions, answered from this org's own filings

Will my donation be tax-deductible?

GOOD

Yes — A charitable, religious, educational, scientific, or literary organization. Contributions are generally tax-deductible for donors.

IRS Business Master File records this organization as tax-exempt with deductible contributions. See detail →

Can I donate to this org right now?

GOOD

No revocation on IRS record

This EIN does not appear on the IRS auto-revocation list. See detail →

Is this organization up to date?

GOOD

Filed FY2024 (typical filing lag)

Most recent Form 990 on file is for fiscal year 2024 (2 years ago). See detail →

Is it receiving grants from reputable foundations?

NEUTRAL

No foundation grants on file

No Schedule I/Schedule R grants from other foundations are on file for this EIN. See detail →

How is the money spent?

NEUTRAL

Not on file

Program vs. overhead split is not on file for this EIN's most recent filing. See detail →

What's its financial size and trend?

NEUTRAL

$100K–1M · ↓ -10% vs prior year

Revenue band $100K–1M, -10% versus the prior filing year (down). See detail →

Grants paid & assets · FY2024
Total revenue
$126K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$224K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$2.4M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$99K
Total assets
2.4M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
177K
in FY2024
Grants made
21grants
total in period
Payout rate
7%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 21 grants · $177K · 2024–2024
Northland Community & Technical College FoundationFY2024$26,800
Warroad Community Childcare CenterFY2024$25,000
City of WarrenFY2024$25,000
Falls DacFY2024$24,000
Karlstad Country ClubFY2024$15,000
Oklee Fire DepartmentFY2024$10,000
Advance Thief RiverFY2024$7,500
Marshall County Historical SocietyFY2024$5,000
Lutheran Social Services of MnFY2024$5,000
Kittson County Historical Society MuseumFY2024$5,000
Goodridge IsdFY2024$5,000
Falls Delivered MealsFY2024$5,000
Red Lake Falls Volunteer AmbulanceFY2024$4,000
Moorhead State University FoundationFY2024$3,950
Girl Scouts Dakota HorizonsFY2024$2,700
Boy Scouts of AmericaFY2024$2,700
Roseau County Historical SocietyFY2024$2,500
Prairie Public TelevisionFY2024$1,350
See all 21 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$8K
Median grantPart XV$5K
Largest grantPart XV$27K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$2.4M
FY2024▼ -4%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2024
Total assetsPt II$2.4M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CHartz Foundation
EINHdr · item D41-6041638
Principal addressHdr · item CThief River Falls, MN
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MMN
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFJan 1969

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a—
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13—
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14—
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a—
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2—

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Executive Director and Board Member
$2,600Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 1 named individual · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2024
Karmon Trontvet$2,600$2,600

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Hartz Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$126K
Total revenueLn 12$126K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.79 Operating & administrative $0.21
Grants & contributions paid79%$177K
Operating & administrative21%$47K
Total functional expensesLn 25$224K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$286K
Total assetsLn 16$2.4M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$2.4M
Months of cash on handcomputed15.3

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $2.4M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $126K
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $126K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $126K · Prior year $140K
-10%
Revenue CAGR
FY2019 $61K · FY2024 $126K
+16%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $2.4M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $126K · Expenses $224K
-79%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $2.4M
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $2.4M · Total assets $2.4M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Karmon Trontvet · Reported title EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND BOARD MEMBER · Highest reported compensation $3K · Total expenses $224K
1%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -10%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024$140K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$159K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$180K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$121K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$61K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.