Slater Foundation EIN 41-2073119

Slater Foundation

EIN  41-2073119 Private foundation / grantmaker Denver, CO
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Slater Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Denver, CO. It reported about $63K in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Colleen M Slater · President
Money in and out
$63K revenue, $105K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Denver, CO. It reported about $63K in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $63K in revenue, $105K in expenses, and $497K in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2024
Total revenue
$63K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$105K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$497K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$41K
Total assets
497K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
101K
in FY2024
Grants made
5grants
total in period
Payout rate
20%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 5 grants · $101K · 2024–2024
Islamorada Foundation INCFL · FY2024$50,000
Colorado AcademyCO · FY2024$25,000
Maine Lobstermen's AssociationFY2024$3,500

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV4
Average grantPart XV$20K
Median grantPart XV$18K
Largest grantPart XV$50K
Top cause focusNTEEEducation (40%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$63K
FY2024▼ -73%
Expenses
$105K
FY2024▼ -63%
Total assets
$497K
FY2024▼ -8%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2024
Total revenue
$63K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$105K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$497K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$497K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CSlater Foundation
EINHdr · item D41-2073119
Principal addressHdr · item CDenver, CO
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCO
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T30)
Ruling yearIRS BMFAug 2005

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice Pres.
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Slater Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$63K
Total revenueLn 12$63K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.97 Operating & administrative $0.03
Grants & contributions paid97%$101K
Operating & administrative3%$4K
Total functional expensesLn 25$105K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$89K
Total assetsLn 16$497K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$497K
Months of cash on handcomputed10.2

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $497K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $63K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $63K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $63K · Prior year $237K
-73%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $225K · FY2024 $63K
-27%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $497K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $63K · Expenses $105K
-65%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $497K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $497K · Total assets $497K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Colleen M Slater · Reported title President · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $105K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -73%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$63K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$237K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$165K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$225K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$225K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.