Heaven Gallery

Tax-deductible

Chicago, IL501(c)(3)Arts & CultureEIN 36-4248117

Heaven Gallery is a multi-disciplinary healing art space that provides holistic programming to elevate artists and connect Chicago communities. The gallery hosts art exhibitions, artist talks, House Music dance events, and classical concerts all serving an intergenerational audience. Using a commerce to culture model the gallery has a vintage shop that creates a revenue stream to sustain programming and engage the general public.

501(c)(3) charity; gifts are tax-deductible.
7¢ of each $1 spent went to programs.
Run by 12 volunteers and 3 employees.
Mission: Form 990 Part I, line 1 · Status: IRS Pub. 78 · Programs: Part IX · People: Part I, lines 5–6

Before you give

FY2025 · Form 990Independent: from IRS data, not the org
Download 990
Is it a real charity?
501(c)(3)
not on the IRS revocation list
Looks good: listed by the IRS and not on the revocation list.
IRS BMF · Auto-Revocation List
Are gifts tax-deductible?
Yes
Donations are tax-deductible
Looks good: the IRS lists gifts to it as deductible.
IRS Pub. 78 · IRS BMF
Is it filing on time?
FY2025
latest Form 990
Looks good: the latest return is for FY2025, 1 tax year back; within 2 years looks good.
IRS e-file · Filing history
Is it financially stable?
1 of 2
years in the black
Worth a look: 1 of the last 2 filings shows a deficit.
Pt I · Ln 19 · 2 filings
How much reaches the programs?
7%
of spending
Concern: 7% of spending went to programs; under 50% is a concern.
Pt IX · Ln 25 · col B
What are leaders paid?
$59K
to officers and key staff · 38% of spending
Concern: leaders' pay is 38% of spending; over 30% is a concern.
Pt VII · Sec A
Who is supporting them already?
1
named funder · $8K
Worth a look: 1 funder names it on their filings; under 3 is worth a look.
Funders’ Sch. I, 990-PF
Do they carry debt?
$0
liabilities
Looks good: debts are 0% of assets; 50% or less looks good.
Pt X · Ln 26
Looks goodWorth a lookConcernTap a box for the reason.
Revenue
$161K
-24% vs prior year
Spent
$156K
To programs
7%
Net assets
$13K
By yearFY2021–FY2025
Revenue
$161K
FY2025▼ -24%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2021$124K
FY2022$187K
FY2023$182K
FY2024$212K
FY2025$161K
Expenses
$156K
FY2025▼ -28%
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2021Not on file
FY2022Not on file
FY2023Not on file
FY2024$218K
FY2025$156K
Net assets
$13K
FY2025▲ +56%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2021$20K
FY2022$9K
FY2023$14K
FY2024$8K
FY2025$13K

From the FY2025 Form 990 · see the original

Give Claim

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
Yes — exemption reinstated (2010-05-15)
Per the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Yes — filed FY2025
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CHeaven Gallery
EINHdr · item D36-4248117
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFOct 2012
Latest filingForm 990FY2025 · Form 990
Principal addressHdr · item CChicago, IL
NTEE classificationIRS BMFArts & Culture (A25)
WebsiteHdr · item Jheavengallery.com

Where the money goes

What each dollar paid for.

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Program services $0.07
Program services7%$11K
Total functional expensesLn 25$156K

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Operating runway
1.0mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate▲ +100% vs prior filing year
Surplus margin
+3%
revenue over expenses, this year▲ +218% vs prior filing year
Revenue trend
+7%
avg. annual growth over 5 years

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990
Total assets
$13K
FY2025▲ +56%
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2021Not on file
FY2022Not on file
FY2023Not on file
FY2024$8K
FY2025$13K
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2021Not on file
FY2022Not on file
FY2023Not on file
FY2024$0
FY2025$0
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$5K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$13K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B7%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3pending
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1—
Total assetsLn 16$13K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$13K

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue100%$161K
Total revenueLn 12$161K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $13K · Operating expenses/yr $156K
1.0 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $45K · Total revenue $161K
28%
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $26K · Total revenue $161K
16%
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $161K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $26K · Total expenses $156K
17%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $161K · Prior year $212K
-24%
Revenue CAGR
FY2021 $124K · FY2025 $161K
+7%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $13K · Beginning of year $8K
+56%
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $161K · Expenses $156K
+3%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities $0 · Total assets $13K
0%
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $13K · Total assets $13K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Alma Wieser · Reported title Executive Director · Highest reported compensation $48K · Total expenses $156K
31%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits $70K · Total expenses $156K
45%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Program ratio 7%——
Revenue growth -24%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Executive Director
$47,600Pt VII · Sec A
$8,068Pt VII · Sec A
Assistant Manager
$2,187Pt VII · Sec A
Assistant Manager
$1,485Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Alma Wieser’s $48K as Executive Director is at the 42nd percentile of top reported officer pay among 2216 $100K–1M arts & culture nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 7 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021
Alma Wieser$47,600$53,760$53,812$53,676$45,255
Francine Almeda——$24,225$31,878$19,314
Jennifer Kempf$8,068————
Jeremiah Eison—$7,470$7,992——
Jocelyn Ruiz$2,187————
Emily Aro$1,485————
Lauren Stichweh—$1,368———

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Heaven Gallery executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • –Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • –Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNot reported
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Not reported
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Not reported
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNot reported
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2Not reported

Mission and programs

What it does.

Offers healing art programs, exhibitions, and events to connect and elevate Chicago communities.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Heaven Gallery claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

2 program services account for $22K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2024.
01

In 2024 Heaven Gallery hosted 54 events and 24,900 people visited the gallery. The organization presented 12 exhibitions and paid 54 artists. Its mentorship program served 12 emerging arts leaders on how to use innovative retail models to sustain culture.

$22Kprogram expense
02

Event rental services provided to artists and other arts organizations.

Pt IX · col B

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Funders

Who pays for it.

From grant filings on record. Receipts are incomplete: individual donors are never listed.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2024
Total grants receivedfrom 1 funder$8K

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2025 Latest Viewing $161K$156K-24% 990 PDF
FY2024 $212K$218K+16% 990 PDF
FY2023 $182K—-3% 990 PDF
FY2022 $187K—+51% 990 PDF
FY2021 $124K— 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Heaven Gallery →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.