Nancy Nichols Olson Foundtion EIN 36-4108737 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Nancy Nichols Olson Foundtion

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Rockford, IL. It reported about $33K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $33K in revenue, $60K in expenses, and $94K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Rockford, IL
Filings
6 on file (2020–2025)
Revenue
$33KFY2025
Expenses
$60K
Net assets
$94K
People
1
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  36-4108737 Private foundation / grantmaker Rockford, IL
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Nancy Nichols Olson Foundtion claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Rockford, IL. It reported about $33K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
Nobel D Olson · Director · $30K
Money in and out
$33K revenue, $60K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$33K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$60K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$94K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$27K
Total assets
94K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
28K
in FY2025
Grants made
12grants
total in period
Payout rate
29%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 12 grants · $28K · 2025–2025
Boy Scouts of AmericaFY2025$5,000
Marsh Cemetary AssociationFY2025$5,000
Keith Country Day SchoolIL · FY2025$3,000
Friends of Coranado FoundationFY2025$2,000
YMCA of Rock River ValleyIL · FY2025$2,000
Tunnel to TowersFY2025$2,000
Hope Village - Tiny Housing AlternaFY2025$1,000
St Peter Catholic ChurchIN · FY2025$500
Red Shed SchoolFY2025$500
Shatter Our SilenceFY2025$500

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV5
Average grantPart XV$2K
Median grantPart XV$2K
Largest grantPart XV$5K
Top cause focusNTEEHuman Services (8%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$33K
FY2025▼ -12%
Expenses
$60K
FY2025▼ -33%
Total assets
$94K
FY2025▼ -23%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$33K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$60K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$94K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$94K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CNancy Nichols Olson Foundtion
EINHdr · item D36-4108737
Principal addressHdr · item CRockford, IL
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MIL
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22Z)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJun 1997

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$30,000Pt VII · Sec A
See Nancy Nichols Olson Foundtion executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$33K
Total revenueLn 12$33K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.46 Operating & administrative $0.54
Grants & contributions paid46%$28K
Operating & administrative54%$33K
Total functional expensesLn 25$60K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$7K
Total assetsLn 16$94K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$94K
Months of cash on handcomputed1.4

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $94K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $33K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $33K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $33K · Prior year $37K
-12%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $27K · FY2025 $33K
+4%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $94K · Beginning of year $121K
-23%
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $33K · Expenses $60K
-84%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities $0 · Total assets $94K
0%
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $94K · Total assets $94K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Nobel D Olson · Reported title DIRECTOR · Highest reported compensation $30K · Total expenses $60K
50%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -12%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$33K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$37K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$52K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$8K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$41K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$27K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.