H & H Charitable Foundation EIN 36-3426895 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

H & H Charitable Foundation

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Fairfield, NJ. It reported about $830K in revenue for 2023. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $830K in revenue, $338K in expenses, and $4.4M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Nonprofit
Location
Fairfield, NJ
Filings
5 on file (2020–2024)
Revenue
$830KFY2024
Expenses
$338K
Net assets
$4.4M
People
4
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  36-3426895 Private foundation / grantmaker Fairfield, NJ
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until H & H Charitable Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Fairfield, NJ. It reported about $830K in revenue for 2023.
Leadership
Herbert E Seif · Dir/Pres
Money in and out
$830K revenue, $338K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2024
Total revenue
$830K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$338K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$4.4M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $492K
Total assets
4.4M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
289K
in FY2024
Grants made
44grants
total in period
Payout rate
7%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 44 grants · $289K · 2023–2023
Religious Zionist B'Nai AkivaFY2023$118,003
Amit Children INCNY · FY2023$26,179
Etzion Foundation INCNJ · FY2023$18,000
American Committee for Shaare Zedek Medical Center in JerusalemFY2023$18,000
KedmaFY2023$11,381
Sharsheret INCNJ · FY2023$10,000
Central Fund of IsraelNY · FY2023$5,960
Makor DsFY2023$5,000
Shalom Task Force INCNY · FY2023$3,600
Sinai SchoolsFY2023$2,500
Friends of Yad Sarah INCNY · FY2023$2,500
Grilling for the IdfFY2023$1,800
Emunah of America INCNY · FY2023$1,800
Shir ChadashFY2023$1,530
See all 44 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV23
Average grantPart XV$7K
Median grantPart XV$1K
Largest grantPart XV$118K
Top cause focusNTEEFoundations & Grantmakers (14%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$830K
FY2024▲ +121%
Expenses
$338K
FY2024▼ -2%
Total assets
$4.4M
FY2024▲ +4%
Total liabilities
$5K
FY2024▼ -79%
Total revenue
$830K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$338K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$4.4M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$4.4M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CH & H Charitable Foundation
EINHdr · item D36-3426895
Principal addressHdr · item CFairfield, NJ
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MNJ
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFNov 1986

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2023); the FY2024 filing did not itemize Part VII
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Dir/Sec/Tr
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See H & H Charitable Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$622K · 75%
Contributions & grants$201K · 24%
Other revenue$6K · 1%
Investment income75%$622K
Contributions & grants24%$201K
Other revenue1%$6K
Total revenueLn 12$830K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.86 Operating & administrative $0.14
Grants & contributions paid86%$289K
Operating & administrative14%$48K
Total functional expensesLn 25$338K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$214K
Total assetsLn 16$4.4M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$5K
Total net assetsLn 32$4.4M
Months of cash on handcomputed7.6

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $4.4M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $830K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $830K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $830K · Prior year $375K
+121%
Revenue CAGR
FY2019 $336K · FY2023 $830K
+25%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $4.4M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $830K · Expenses $338K
+59%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $4.4M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $4.4M · Total assets $4.4M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Herbert E Seif · Reported title DIR/PRES · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $338K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 121%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$830K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$375K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$266K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$750K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$336K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.