Br Foundation EIN 35-2014496 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Br Foundation FY2020 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Michigan City, IN. It reported about $34K in revenue for 2020. For fiscal year 2020 it reported $34K in revenue, $30K in expenses, and $1.2M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Michigan City, IN
Filings
6 on file (2020–2020)
Revenue
$34KFY2020
Expenses
$30K
Net assets
$1.2M
People
0
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  35-2014496 Private foundation / grantmaker Michigan City, IN
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2020 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Br Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Michigan City, IN. It reported about $34K in revenue for 2020.
Money in and out
$34K revenue, $30K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2020
Total revenue
$34K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$30K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.2M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $4K
Total assets
1.2M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
27K
in FY2020
Grants made
18grants
total in period
Payout rate
2%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 18 grants · $94K · 2025–2025
R Vidhya AashramFY2025$12,390
Indian American Cultural CtrFY2025$10,975
ProcureFY2025$9,700
Salavation ArmyFY2025$8,650
Salvation ArmyFY2025$8,395
Lubeznik Center for the ArtsFY2025$7,595
Friendship Botanical GardensFY2025$6,100
Open Books LtdFY2025$5,981
Ashley HouseFY2025$5,550
Notre Dame SchoolFY2025$5,250
Pcs for PeopleFY2025$3,850
Center for Creative SolutionsFY2025$2,500
World Food OrgFY2025$2,089
Hindu Temple of Greater ChicagoFY2025$1,502
St Stanislaus ChurchFY2025$1,500
Franciscan Health FoundationFY2025$1,200
Lafd FoundationFY2025$515
Anti-Recidivism CoalitionFY2025$100

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$5K
Median grantPart XV$6K
Largest grantPart XV$12K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$34K
FY2020
Expenses
$30K
FY2020
Total assets
$1.2M
FY2020
Total liabilities
$0
FY2020
Total revenue
$34K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$30K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.2M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$1.2M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CBr Foundation
EINHdr · item D35-2014496
Principal addressHdr · item CMichigan City, IN
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MIN
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22Z)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJun 1997

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Br Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$18K · 52%
Contributions & grants$16K · 48%
Investment income52%$18K
Contributions & grants48%$16K
Total revenueLn 12$34K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.90 Operating & administrative $0.10
Grants & contributions paid90%$27K
Operating & administrative10%$3K
Total functional expensesLn 25$30K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$419K
Total assetsLn 16$1.2M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$1.2M
Months of cash on handcomputed170.1

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $1.2M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $34K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $34K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $34K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $1.2M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $34K · Expenses $30K
+13%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $1.2M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $1.2M · Total assets $1.2M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $30K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown. Peer cohort: .

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$93K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$87K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$41K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$43K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$54K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$34K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.