John Q Shunk Association EIN 34-0896477 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

John Q Shunk Association

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Bucyrus, OH. It reported about $98K in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $98K in revenue, $160K in expenses, and $925K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Nonprofit
Location
Bucyrus, OH
Filings
5 on file (2020–2024)
Revenue
$98KFY2024
Expenses
$160K
Net assets
$925K
People
6
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  34-0896477 Private foundation / grantmaker Bucyrus, OH
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until John Q Shunk Association claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Bucyrus, OH. It reported about $98K in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Scott Langenderfer · Treasurer · $12K
Money in and out
$98K revenue, $160K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2024
Total revenue
$98K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$160K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$925K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$62K
Total assets
927K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
115K
in FY2024
Grants made
35grants
total in period
Payout rate
12%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 35 grants · $115K · 2024–2024
Projects INCOH · FY2024$13,500
Bucyrus Area YMCAFY2024$7,500
Salvation ArmyFY2024$7,000
Ohio Northern UniversityOH · FY2024$6,250
Crawford County Sheriff's OfficeFY2024$5,000
Ohio State UniversityFY2024$5,000
Crawford Council on AgingFY2024$4,000
The University of FindlayOH · FY2024$3,750
Kent State UniversityOH · FY2024$3,750
The Community Foundation for CrawfoFY2024$3,500
Bucyrus Public LibraryFY2024$3,494
University of CincinnatiFY2024$2,500
North Central State CollegeFY2024$2,500
Heidelberg UniversityOH · FY2024$2,500
See all 35 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV16
Average grantPart XV$3K
Median grantPart XV$2K
Largest grantPart XV$14K
Top cause focusNTEEColleges & Universities (29%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$98K
FY2024▼ -46%
Expenses
$160K
FY2024▲ +3%
Total assets
$927K
FY2024▼ -6%
Total liabilities
$1K
FY2024▼ -7%
Total revenue
$98K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$160K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$925K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$927K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CJohn Q Shunk Association
EINHdr · item D34-0896477
Principal addressHdr · item CBucyrus, OH
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MOH
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFFeb 1941

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$12,000Pt VII · Sec A
President
$6,880Pt VII · Sec A
Vice Preside
$1,150Pt VII · Sec A
$1,150Pt VII · Sec A
$1,150Pt VII · Sec A
$300Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 6 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2021
Scott Langenderfer$12,000$12,000
Phil Gerber$6,880$6,880
Nadine Miller$1,150$1,000
Randy Clady$1,150$1,000
William Dane Kennedy$1,150$1,000
Nate Roshon$300

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See John Q Shunk Association executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$98K
Total revenueLn 12$98K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.72 Operating & administrative $0.28
Grants & contributions paid72%$115K
Operating & administrative28%$45K
Total functional expensesLn 25$160K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$2K
Total assetsLn 16$927K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$1K
Total net assetsLn 32$925K
Months of cash on handcomputed0.1

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $927K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $98K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $98K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $98K · Prior year $180K
-46%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $124K · FY2024 $98K
-6%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $925K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $98K · Expenses $160K
-63%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $927K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $925K · Total assets $927K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Scott Langenderfer · Reported title TREASURER · Highest reported compensation $12K · Total expenses $160K
8%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -46%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$98K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$180K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$566K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$127K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$124K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.