Motet FY2024 filing

EIN 33-2393377 Private foundation / grantmaker Danville, CA NTEE T20
Is this your organization?
Claim it free, then get the verified mark.
Claim
Revenue & expenses by yearFY2024–FY2025
Revenue
$4.5M
FY2024

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending December 2024 (IRS tax year 2024).


A private foundation based in Danville, CA. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $4.5M in revenue and $1.4M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Danville, CA
Filings
2 on file (2024–2024)
Revenue
$4.5MFY2024
Net assets
$1.4M
People
5
You’re viewing the FY2024 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Motet claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$1–10M
What they do
A private foundation based in Danville, CA.
Leadership
Lisha Ruud · Trustee
Money in and out
$4.5M revenue
Bottom line
—

What Funders Ask

From IRS filings

Tax-deductible?

good Yes

Per the IRS master file. Details →

Can I give now?

good Yes

Not on the IRS revocation list. Details →

Filing up to date?

good Yes — filed FY2025

Details →

Size and trend

$1–10M

Details →

Not in filings yet: foundation funders · spent on programs

Grants paid & assets · FY2024
Total revenue
$4.5M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
—
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.4M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assets
1.4M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants made
21grants
total in period

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Motet →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 21 grants · $92K · 2025–2025
Shriners Hospital SlcFY2025$20,000
Nfg Crisis InterventionFY2025$5,000
La FoodbankFY2025$5,000
St Timothy's Episcopal ChurchFY2025$5,000
Childrens Justice CenterFY2025$5,000
FoodbankFY2025$5,000
St Isidore SchoolFY2025$5,000
Sea TreesFY2025$5,000
Heal the BayFY2025$5,000
Corpus Christi ParishFY2025$5,000
Save MT DiabloFY2025$4,200
Project CampFY2025$4,000
First Presbyterian ChurchFY2025$4,000
Wounded Warrior ProjectFY2025$2,500
TtcfFY2025$2,500
Kidzone MuseumFY2025$2,500
Center for Grieving ChildrenFY2025$2,500
Helping HandsFY2025$2,000
See all 21 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$4K
Median grantPart XV$4K
Largest grantPart XV$20K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$1.4M
FY2024
Total liabilities
$0
FY2024
Total assetsPt II$1.4M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CMotet
EINHdr · item D33-2393377
Principal addressHdr · item CDanville, CA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJun 2025

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a—
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13—
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14—
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a—
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2—

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Trustee
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Information Officer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Motet executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants100%$4.5M
Total revenueLn 12$4.5M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$9K
Total assetsLn 16$1.4M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$1.4M

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $1.4M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $4.5M
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $4.5M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $4.5M · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $1.4M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $4.5M · Expenses —
—
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $1.4M
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $1.4M · Total assets $1.4M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Lisha Ruud · Reported title Trustee · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses —
Total expenses not reported — showing dollar figure only
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown. Peer cohort: .

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$637K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$4.5M revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.