Sigma Alpha Epsilon Fraternity FY2023 filing

Evanston, IL · Mutual-benefit / member-serving · Education

! Not tax-deductible
Revenue
$523K
+8% vs prior year
Spent
$496K
To programs
0%
Net assets
$99K
By yearFY2022–FY2025
Revenue
$523K
FY2023▲ +8%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2022$486K
FY2023$523K
FY2024$672K
FY2025$612K
Expenses
$496K
FY2023▲ +20%
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2022$414K
FY2023$496K
FY2024$829K
FY2025$640K
Net assets
$99K
FY2023▲ +37%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2022$72K
FY2023$99K
FY2024−$47K
FY2025−$72K

From the FY2023 Form 990 (year ending June 2023) · see the original

You’re viewing the FY2023 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
No
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
Yes — exemption reinstated (2020-05-15)
Per the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Filed FY2025 (typical filing lag)
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CSigma Alpha Epsilon Fraternity
EINHdr · item D31-1345461
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(7) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFAug 2022
Latest filingForm 990FY2025 · Form 990
Principal addressHdr · item CEvanston, IL
NTEE classificationIRS BMFEducation (B83)
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.saehousning.net

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Surplus margin
+5%
revenue over expenses, this year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990
Total assets
$253K
FY2023▲ +143%
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2022$104K
FY2023$253K
FY2024$44K
FY2025$75K
Total liabilities
$153K
FY2023▲ +386%
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2022$31K
FY2023$153K
FY2024$91K
FY2025$148K
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$27K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$253K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B0%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3130
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4130

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1—
Total assetsLn 16$253K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$153K
Total net assetsLn 32$99K

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Program service revenue100%$523K
Total revenueLn 12$523K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves — · Operating expenses/yr $496K
Highly liquid reserves (cash & marketable securities on Pt X) ÷ monthly operating expenses (Pt IX total, less non-cash grants & depreciation when reported).
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $0 · Total expenses $496K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $496K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $496K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense (2-yr avg) $0 · Solicited contributions (2-yr avg) $0
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $0 · Total revenue $523K
0%
Government reliance
Government grants $0 · Total revenue $523K
0%
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $523K · Total revenue $523K
100%
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $523K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $523K · Total expenses $496K
105%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $523K · Prior year $486K
+8%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $99K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $523K · Expenses $496K
+5%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $253K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $99K · Total assets $253K
39%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) $0 · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) $0 · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $253K
0%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Gregory Somers · Reported title CEO · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $496K
0%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $85K · Total expenses $496K
17%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Overhead ratio 0%——
Revenue growth 8%——
Investment management fee ratio 0%——
Legal fee ratio 0%——
Accounting fee ratio 0.04%——
Fundraising fee ratio 0%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2022); the FY2023 filing did not itemize Part VII
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Controller
$0Pt VII · Sec A
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Sigma Alpha Epsilon Fraternity executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • 130Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • 130Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14No
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNo
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2No

Mission and programs

What it does.

Supports students through fraternity life and leadership development.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Sigma Alpha Epsilon Fraternity claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service account for $496K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2022.
01

The Organization provides a residential dining study social and recreational facility for its members.

$496Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2025 Latest $612K$640K-9% 990 PDF
FY2024 $672K$829K+28% 990 PDF
FY2023 Viewing $523K$496K+8% 990 PDF
FY2022 $486K$414K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Sigma Alpha Epsilon Fraternity →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.