Bio Bamboo INC EIN 27-3984497 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Bio Bamboo INC

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

Promote sustainable farming for island food security, carbon sequestration, and future generations. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $213K in revenue, $18K in expenses.Pt I

Type
Public charity (501(c)(3)) · Environment
Location
Haiku, HI
Filings
5 on file (2020–2024)
Revenue
$213KFY2024
Expenses
$18K
Net assets
$0
People
3
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  27-3984497 Public charity (501(c)(3)) Haiku, HI
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Bio Bamboo INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Promote sustainable farming for island food security, carbon sequestration, and future generations.
Leadership
Ty · President/VP
Money in and out
$213K revenue, $18K expenses
Bottom line
48.4mo operating runway
Where the money goes · FY2024
Total revenue
$213K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$18K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$0
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $195K
Operating runway
48.4mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate▲ +54% vs prior filing year
Surplus margin
+92%
revenue over expenses, this year▲ +11% vs prior filing year
Revenue trend
+46%
avg. annual growth over 5 years

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990
Revenue
$213K
FY2024▲ +187%
Expenses
$18K
FY2024▲ +36%
Total assets
$295K
FY2024▲ +743%
Total liabilities
$295K
FY2024▲ +743%
Total revenue
$213K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$18K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$0
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$195K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$295K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B0%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 32
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 42
Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2024.
01

Atherton grant tool library project fiscal sponsor for MFTTN tool library project and T4TT micro sustaianability equipment chipper purchase using a payment plan. Atherton is also responsible for the upkeep and gas for the 2002 ford truck

Pt IX · col B

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CBio Bamboo INC
EINHdr · item D27-3984497
Principal addressHdr · item CHaiku, HI
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MHI
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFEnvironment (C35)
Ruling yearIRS BMFMay 2013

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a2
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b2
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNo
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14No
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNo
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2No

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
President/VP
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary/Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Grant Manager
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Charlotte Obrien’s $42K as Executive Director is at the 25th percentile of top reported officer pay among 1982 $100K–1M environment nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 3 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2023FY2022FY2021FY2020
Jenny Pell$45,666$2,000
Charlotte Obrien$41,718
Charlotte O'Brien$3,000$650

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Bio Bamboo INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants100%$213K
Total revenueLn 12$213K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$72K
Total assetsLn 16$295K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$295K
Total net assetsLn 32$0
Months of cash on handcomputed48.4

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $72K · Operating expenses/yr $18K
48.4 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $0 · Total expenses $18K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $18K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $18K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense (3-yr avg) $0 · Solicited contributions (3-yr avg) $91K
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $213K · Total revenue $213K
100%
Government reliance
Government grants — · Total revenue $213K
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $0 · Total revenue $213K
0%
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $213K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $0 · Total expenses $18K
0%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $213K · Prior year $74K
+187%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $47K · FY2024 $213K
+46%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $0 · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $213K · Expenses $18K
+92%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $295K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $0 · Total assets $295K
0%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) — · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) — · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $295K
Excludes program-related investments (Pt X, ln 13)
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Ty · Reported title PRESIDENT/VP · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $18K
0%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $0 · Total expenses $18K
0%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Overhead ratio 0%
Fundraising cost ratio 0%
Revenue growth 187%
Investment management fee ratio 0%
Legal fee ratio 0%
Accounting fee ratio 0%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · received and paid
Grants received · FY2023
Total grants receivedfrom 2 funders$8K
Grants paid · 2 grants · $170K · 2021–2022
Malama Aina Unlimited LLCFY2022$64,583
Malama Aina Unlimited LLCFY2021$105,643

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Bio Bamboo INC →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$213K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$74K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$70K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$201K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$47K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.