The Macbea Foundation EIN 27-3409621

The Macbea Foundation FY2022 filing

EIN  27-3409621 Private foundation / grantmaker Columbus, OH
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2022 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Verified accurate 8/30/26 · see original filing: IRS
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until The Macbea Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Columbus, OH. It reported about $789K in revenue for 2022.
Money in and out
$789K revenue, $2.2M expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Columbus, OH. It reported about $789K in revenue for 2022. For fiscal year 2022 it reported $789K in revenue, $2.2M in expenses, and $19.3M in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2022
Total revenue
$789K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$2.2M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$19.3M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$1.4M
Total assets
19.3M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
2.0M
in FY2022
Grants made
46grants
total in period
Payout rate
10%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 46 grants · $2.9M · 2025–2025
Star HouseFY2025$500,000
St John Neumann Catholic ChurchFY2025$500,000
Columbus FoundationFY2025$250,000
Columbus FoundationFY2025$200,000
Tunnel to Towers FoundationFY2025$100,000
The Ohio State University FoundatioFY2025$100,000
Columbus FoundationFY2025$100,000
Columbus FoundationFY2025$100,000
Columbus FoundationFY2025$100,000
Mid Ohio Food CollectiveFY2025$60,000
WarmFY2025$50,000
The Eye Cancer FoundationFY2025$50,000
St Francis CenterFY2025$50,000
Saint Jude Children's HospitalFY2025$50,000
Lutheran Social ServicesFY2025$50,000
Holy Family Soup KitchenFY2025$50,000
Salvation Army of Central OhioFY2025$35,000
HomeportFY2025$35,000
See all 46 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$62K
Median grantPart XV$25K
Largest grantPart XV$500K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2022 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$789K
FY2022▼ -64%
Expenses
$2.2M
FY2022▲ +7%
Total assets
$19.3M
FY2022▼ -7%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2022
Total revenue
$789K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$2.2M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$19.3M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$19.3M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CThe Macbea Foundation
EINHdr · item D27-3409621
Principal addressHdr · item CColumbus, OH
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MOH
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFDec 2010

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See The Macbea Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$789K
Total revenueLn 12$789K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.91 Operating & administrative $0.09
Grants & contributions paid91%$2.0M
Operating & administrative9%$190K
Total functional expensesLn 25$2.2M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$1.1M
Total assetsLn 16$19.3M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$19.3M
Months of cash on handcomputed5.8

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2022 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $19.3M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $789K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $789K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $789K · Prior year $2.2M
-64%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $19.3M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $789K · Expenses $2.2M
-181%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $19.3M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $19.3M · Total assets $19.3M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $2.2M
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -64%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$2.3M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$3.0M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$813K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$789K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$2.2M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$1.3M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2022IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.