Poor Richard's Charitable Trust EIN 23-7909451

Poor Richard's Charitable Trust

EIN  23-7909451 Private foundation / grantmaker Chesterbrook, PA
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Verified accurate 8/28/26 · see original filing: IRS
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Poor Richard's Charitable Trust claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$1–10M
What they do
A private foundation based in Chesterbrook, PA. It reported about $3.4M in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Lisa S Roberts · Trustee
Money in and out
$3.4M revenue, $3.2M expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Chesterbrook, PA. It reported about $3.4M in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $3.4M in revenue, $3.2M in expenses, and $51.0M in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2024
Total revenue
$3.4M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$3.2M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$51.0M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $233K
Total assets
51.0M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
3.1M
in FY2024
Grants made
35grants
total in period
Payout rate
6%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 35 grants · $3.1M · 2024–2024
Philadelphia Museum of ArtPA · FY2024$859,000
Center for Architecture DesignFY2024$250,000
Spotlight PAPA · FY2024$225,000
Germination ProjectPA · FY2024$150,000
Tiny WpaPA · FY2024$125,000
CraftnowFY2024$120,000
Philadelphia Youth Sports Collaborative (pysc)FY2024$100,000
Philadelphia Soccer 2026PA · FY2024$100,000
Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian Design MuseumFY2024$85,000
Starfinder FoundationPA · FY2024$75,000
Share Food Program INCPA · FY2024$50,000
Abortion Access for AllFY2024$50,000
Neighborhood Garden's TrustFY2024$45,000
See all 35 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV24
Average grantPart XV$87K
Median grantPart XV$35K
Largest grantPart XV$859K
Top cause focusNTEEArts & Culture (20%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$3.4M
FY2024▲ +55%
Expenses
$3.2M
FY2024▼ -4%
Total assets
$51.0M
FY2024▲ +1%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2024
Total revenue
$3.4M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$3.2M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$51.0M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$51.0M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CPoor Richard's Charitable Trust
EINHdr · item D23-7909451
Principal addressHdr · item CChesterbrook, PA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MPA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20Z)
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 1998

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Poor Richard's Charitable Trust executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$1.7M · 50%
Other revenue$1.7M · 50%
Investment income50%$1.7M
Other revenue50%$1.7M
Total revenueLn 12$3.4M

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.95 Operating & administrative $0.05
Grants & contributions paid95%$3.1M
Operating & administrative5%$144K
Total functional expensesLn 25$3.2M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$3.9M
Total assetsLn 16$51.0M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$51.0M
Months of cash on handcomputed14.6

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $51.0M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $3.4M
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $3.4M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $3.4M · Prior year $2.2M
+55%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $1.9M · FY2024 $3.4M
+15%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $51.0M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $3.4M · Expenses $3.2M
+7%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $51.0M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $51.0M · Total assets $51.0M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Lisa S Roberts · Reported title TRUSTEE · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $3.2M
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 55%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$3.4M revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$2.2M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$176K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$3.9M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$1.9M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.