Posel Foundation EIN 23-2581520

Posel Foundation

EIN  23-2581520 Private foundation / grantmaker Philadelphia, PA
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Posel Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Philadelphia, PA.
Leadership
Anne Posel · President
Money in and out
$-664 revenue, $350K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Philadelphia, PA. For fiscal year 2023 it reported $-664 in revenue, $350K in expenses.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2023
Total revenue
$-664
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$350K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$0
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$351K
Grants paid
340K
in FY2023
Grants made
29grants
total in period

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 29 grants · $340K · 2022–2022
Syrian American Medical SocietyFY2022$27,500
Reader to Reader INCMA · FY2022$20,000
Partners in HealthME · FY2022$15,000
Equal Justice USA INCNY · FY2022$15,000
Democracy NowFY2022$15,000
WccnFY2022$10,000
SoilFY2022$10,000
Plenty InternationalTN · FY2022$10,000
Ithaca Welcomes Refugees INCNY · FY2022$10,000
Ithaca Community Radio INCNY · FY2022$10,000
Equal Justice InitiativeAL · FY2022$10,000
EarthjusticeCA · FY2022$10,000
Center for Transformative ActionFY2022$10,000
American Indian College FundCO · FY2022$10,000
See all 29 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV21
Average grantPart XV$12K
Median grantPart XV$10K
Largest grantPart XV$72K
Top cause focusNTEEInternational (21%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$-664
FY2023▼ -101%
Expenses
$350K
FY2023▲ +17%
Total assets
$0
FY2023▼ -100%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2023
Total revenue
$-664
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$350K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$0
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$0

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CPosel Foundation
EINHdr · item D23-2581520
Principal addressHdr · item CPhiladelphia, PA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MPA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFpending

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2021); the FY2023 filing did not itemize Part VII
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary/Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Posel Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.97 Operating & administrative $0.03
Grants & contributions paid97%$340K
Operating & administrative3%$11K
Total functional expensesLn 25$350K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16$0
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$0

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $0
Foundation payout rate (grants ÷ total assets); 5% minimum-distribution rule
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $-664
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $-664
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $-664 · Prior year $113K
-101%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $0 · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $-664 · Expenses $350K
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $0
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $0 · Total assets $0
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $350K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -101%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2023 (Latest)$-664 revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$113K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$208K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$3.1M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.