Hrbt Foundation FY2022 filing

Private foundation / grantmaker Hudson, NY EIN 22-3595668 NTEE T122
Revenue
$2.2M
▲ +67%
FY2022 · Pt VIII · Ln 12
Expenses
$1.3M
▲ +28%
FY2022 · Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$24.5M
FY2022 · Pt X · Ln 32
To programs
Not filed
Revenue & expenses by yearFY2021–FY2025
Revenue
$2.2M
FY2022▲ +67%
Expenses
$1.3M
FY2022▲ +28%

A private foundation based in Hudson, NY.

Is this your organization?
Claim it free, then get the verified mark.
Claim
Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Details →
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Details →
Filing up to date?
Yes — filed FY2025
Details →
Foundation funders?
Not on file
Details →
Spent on programs?
Not on file
Details →
Size and trend
$1–10M
↑ +67% vs prior year
Details →

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending March 2022 (IRS tax year 2021).


A private foundation based in Hudson, NY.

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Hudson, NY
Website
www.hrbtfoundation.com
Filings
5 on file (2021–2022)
You’re viewing the FY2022 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Hrbt Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Total assets
25.4M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
1.0M
in FY2022
Grants made
116grants
total in period
Payout rate
4%
of assets (5% rule)

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Hrbt Foundation →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 116 grants · $1.5M · 2025–2025
Columbia Memorial Health FoundationFY2025$334,000
Columbia-Greene Community College FoundationFY2025$250,000
Columbia OpportunitiesFY2025$100,000
Hudson-Athens Lighthouse PreservationFY2025$50,000
Columbia OpportunitiesFY2025$50,000
Berkshire Taconic Community FoundationFY2025$50,000
Hillsdale Economic & Community DevelopmentFY2025$25,000
Community Hospice of Colgreene CountiesFY2025$25,000
Columbia County Recovery KitchenFY2025$25,000
Columbia County Health Care ConsortiumFY2025$25,000
Columbia County Agricultural SocietyFY2025$25,000
Camphill Village USA INCFY2025$25,000
Hillsdale Economic & Community DevelopmentFY2025$20,000
Community Hospice of Colgreene CountiesFY2025$20,000
Perfect Ten After School LLCFY2025$17,500
Friends of Hudson Youth INCFY2025$15,000
Crandall TheatreFY2025$15,000
Congregation Anshe EmethFY2025$15,000
See all 116 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$13K
Median grantPart XV$5K
Largest grantPart XV$334K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2022 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$25.4M
FY2022▲ +4%
Total liabilities
$861K
FY2022▲ +17%
Total assetsPt II$25.4M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CHrbt Foundation
EINHdr · item D22-3595668
Principal addressHdr · item CHudson, NY
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.hrbtfoundation.com
State of legal domicileHdr · item MNY
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T122)
Ruling yearIRS BMFApr 1999

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a—
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13—
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14—
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a—
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2—

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2021); the FY2022 filing did not itemize Part VII
$79,336Pt VII · Sec A
President
$7,000Pt VII · Sec A
$6,000Pt VII · Sec A
Vice President
$6,000Pt VII · Sec A
$6,000Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer
$6,000Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 8 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2025FY2022
Holly Rappleyea——$79,336
Kelly Firmbach$27,626$27,120—
Carl a Florio$10,000$10,000$7,000
Marilyn Herrington$7,500$7,500$6,000
Tony Jones$7,500$7,500$6,000
Sid Richter$7,500$7,500$6,000
Brendan Cranna$7,500——
Joseph Phelan——$6,000

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Hrbt Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$2.0M · 91%
Contributions & grants$201K · 9%
Investment income91%$2.0M
Contributions & grants9%$201K
Total revenueLn 12$2.2M

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.77 Operating & administrative $0.23
Grants & contributions paid77%$1.0M
Operating & administrative23%$307K
Total functional expensesLn 25$1.3M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$886K
Total assetsLn 16$25.4M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$861K
Total net assetsLn 32$24.5M
Months of cash on handcomputed7.9

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2022 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $25.4M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $2.2M
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $2.2M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $2.2M · Prior year $1.3M
+67%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $24.5M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $2.2M · Expenses $1.3M
+39%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $25.4M
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $24.5M · Total assets $25.4M
97%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Holly Rappleyea · Reported title SECRETARY · Highest reported compensation $79K · Total expenses $1.3M
6%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 67%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025$5.4M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$2.6M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$1.2M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$2.2M revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$1.3M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2022IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.