The Gb Foundation EIN 20-6686325 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

The Gb Foundation

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Chevy Chase, MD. It reported about $262K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $262K in revenue, $354K in expenses, and $1.2M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Human Services
Location
Chevy Chase, MD
Filings
6 on file (2020–2025)
Revenue
$262KFY2025
Expenses
$354K
Net assets
$1.2M
People
1
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  20-6686325 Private foundation / grantmaker Chevy Chase, MD
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until The Gb Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Chevy Chase, MD. It reported about $262K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
Money in and out
$262K revenue, $354K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$262K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$354K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.2M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$92K
Total assets
1.2M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
342K
in FY2025
Grants made
7grants
total in period
Payout rate
28%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 7 grants · $342K · 2025–2025
Jerusalem College of Technology Friends of JerusalemFY2025$125,000
Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations of AmericaFY2025$90,000
University of Michigan - Um Israel PartnershipFY2025$50,000
Camp Airy and Camp Louise Foundation INCFY2025$25,000
Kol ShalomFY2025$25,000
Georgetown Day SchoolFY2025$17,000
Chicago Jesuit AcademyFY2025$10,000

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$49K
Median grantPart XV$25K
Largest grantPart XV$125K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$262K
FY2025▲ +41%
Expenses
$354K
FY2025▲ +26%
Total assets
$1.2M
FY2025▼ -7%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$262K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$354K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.2M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$1.2M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CThe Gb Foundation
EINHdr · item D20-6686325
Principal addressHdr · item CChevy Chase, MD
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MMD
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFHuman Services (P58)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJan 2006

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See The Gb Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$261K
Other revenue$610
Total revenueLn 12$262K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.97 Operating & administrative $0.03
Grants & contributions paid97%$342K
Operating & administrative3%$12K
Total functional expensesLn 25$354K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$18K
Total assetsLn 16$1.2M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$1.2M
Months of cash on handcomputed0.6

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $1.2M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $262K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $262K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $262K · Prior year $185K
+41%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $205K · FY2025 $262K
+5%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $1.2M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $262K · Expenses $354K
-35%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $1.2M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $1.2M · Total assets $1.2M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Ellen Weis Goldstein · Reported title TRUSTEE · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $354K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 41%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$262K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$185K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$144K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$95K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$43K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$205K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.