Balanced Budget Now EIN 20-3302521

Balanced Budget Now FY2021 filing

EIN  20-3302521 Public charity (501(c)(3)) Vienna, VA
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Balanced Budget Now claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Educates Americans about the national debt threat and constitutional solutions.
Leadership
Loren Enns · President · $37K
Money in and out
$95K revenue
Bottom line
0.6mo operating runway

Educates Americans about the national debt threat and constitutional solutions. For fiscal year 2021 it reported $95K in revenue, in expenses, and $-2K in net assets.Pt I

Where the money goes · FY2021
Total revenue
$95K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$-2K
Pt X · Ln 32
Operating runway
0.6mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate
Surplus margin
0%
revenue over expenses, this year
Donor-funded
100%
of revenue is gifts & grants

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990-EZ
Revenue
$95K
FY2021▼ -30%
Expenses
FY2021
Total assets
FY2021
Total liabilities
$9K
FY2021
Total revenue
$95K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$-2K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3pending
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CBalanced Budget Now
EINHdr · item D20-3302521
Principal addressHdr · item CVienna, VA
WebsiteHdr · item Jcsnds.org
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MVA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFMedical Research (H83)
Ruling yearIRS BMFOct 2006

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
President
$37,300Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Loren J Enns’s $54K as President is at the 38th percentile of top reported officer pay among 322 $100K–1M medical research nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 3 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021FY2020
Loren J Enns$54,300$64,700
Loren Enns$11,450$37,300
Mike Huckabee$22,000

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Balanced Budget Now executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue100%$95K
Total revenueLn 12$95K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16
Total liabilitiesLn 26$9K
Total net assetsLn 32$-2K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $5K · Operating expenses/yr $96K
0.6 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $95K · Total revenue $95K
100%
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue — · Total revenue $95K
Investment reliance
Investment income — · Total revenue $95K
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue — · Total expenses $96K
Rests on the self-reported EZ program figure
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $95K · Prior year $136K
-30%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $-2K · Beginning of year $-2K
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $95K · Expenses $96K
0%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities $9K · Total assets $7K
132%
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $-2K · Total assets $7K
-32%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Loren Enns · Reported title PRESIDENT · Highest reported compensation $37K · Total expenses $96K
39%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits $37K · Total expenses $96K
39%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -30%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2023
See all 4 funders →

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Balanced Budget Now →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$173K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$354K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$59K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$95K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$136K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.