Willayne E Towe Foundation EIN 20-1796087 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Willayne E Towe Foundation FY2020 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Knoxville, TN. It reported about $73K in revenue for 2020. For fiscal year 2020 it reported $73K in revenue, $88K in expenses, and $692K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Knoxville, TN
Filings
6 on file (2020–2020)
Revenue
$73KFY2020
Expenses
$88K
Net assets
$692K
People
0
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  20-1796087 Private foundation / grantmaker Knoxville, TN
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2020 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Willayne E Towe Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Knoxville, TN. It reported about $73K in revenue for 2020.
Money in and out
$73K revenue, $88K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2020
Total revenue
$73K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$88K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$692K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$16K
Total assets
692K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
58K
in FY2020
Grants made
15grants
total in period
Payout rate
8%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 15 grants · $108K · 2025–2025
Susannah's House INCTN · FY2025$10,000
Street Hope TnTN · FY2025$10,000
Restoration HouseFY2025$10,000
Knoxville Inner City Kids OutreachFY2025$10,000
Isaiah 117 HouseTN · FY2025$7,500
Hand Up for WomenTN · FY2025$7,500
Thrive MinistryFY2025$7,500
Youth with a MissionFY2025$5,000
The CrossFY2025$5,000
Punchworx INCFL · FY2025$5,000
Mane Support INCTN · FY2025$5,000
Girls Incorporated of Oak RidgeFY2025$5,000
Cedarbrook Outreach INCTN · FY2025$5,000
Family Promise of KnoxvilleTN · FY2025$5,000

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV9
Average grantPart XV$7K
Median grantPart XV$8K
Largest grantPart XV$10K
Top cause focusNTEEMental Health (13%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$73K
FY2020
Expenses
$88K
FY2020
Total assets
$692K
FY2020
Total liabilities
$0
FY2020
Total revenue
$73K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$88K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$692K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$692K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CWillayne E Towe Foundation
EINHdr · item D20-1796087
Principal addressHdr · item CKnoxville, TN
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MTN
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFDec 2005

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Willayne E Towe Foundation executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue$71K · 98%
Investment income$2K · 2%
Other revenue98%$71K
Investment income2%$2K
Total revenueLn 12$73K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.65 Operating & administrative $0.35
Grants & contributions paid65%$58K
Operating & administrative35%$31K
Total functional expensesLn 25$88K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$371K
Total assetsLn 16$692K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$692K
Months of cash on handcomputed50.4

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $692K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $73K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $73K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $73K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $692K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $73K · Expenses $88K
-21%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $692K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $692K · Total assets $692K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $88K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown. Peer cohort: .

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$59K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$842K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$78K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$89K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$65K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$73K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.