Roofers Joint Apprentice and Educational Fund FY2024 filing

Buffalo, NY · Mutual-benefit / member-serving

! Not tax-deductible Latest data FY2024
Revenue
$393K
▲ +12% vs prior year
Spent
$330K
To programs
0%
Net assets
$286K
By yearFY2021–FY2025
Revenue
$393K
FY2024▲ +12%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2021$351K
FY2022$332K
FY2023$352K
FY2024$393K
FY2025$405K
Expenses
$330K
FY2024▼ -16%
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2021$375K
FY2022$315K
FY2023$391K
FY2024$330K
FY2025$374K
Net assets
$286K
FY2024▲ +36%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2021$250K
FY2022$247K
FY2023$210K
FY2024$286K
FY2025$320K
You’re viewing the FY2024 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →

Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 2024 (IRS tax year 2023).

Status and standing

Tax-deductible?
No
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Filed FY2024 (typical filing lag)
Foundation funders?
Not on file
Spent on programs?
0% to programs
Form 990 Part IX, latest filing.
Size and trend
$100K–1M
↑ +12% vs prior year
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CRoofers Joint Apprentice and Educational Fund
EINHdr · item D16-6036596
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(5) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFDec 1963
Latest filingForm 990FY2025 · Form 990
Principal addressHdr · item CBuffalo, NY
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit

Financial health

Surplus margin
+16%
revenue over expenses, this year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990
Total assets
$307K
FY2024▲ +18%
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2021$275K
FY2022$257K
FY2023$262K
FY2024$307K
FY2025$437K
Total liabilities
$22K
FY2024▼ -57%
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2021$25K
FY2022$10K
FY2023$51K
FY2024$22K
FY2025$117K
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$63K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$307K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B0%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 38
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 46

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$107K
Total assetsLn 16$307K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$22K
Total net assetsLn 32$286K
Months of cash on handcomputed3.9

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Program service revenue$365K · 93%
Contributions & grants$23K · 6%
Investment income$3K · 1%
Program service revenue93%$365K
Contributions & grants6%$23K
Investment income1%$3K
Other revenue$2K
— government grantsLn 1e$16K
Total revenueLn 12$393K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $240K · Operating expenses/yr $330K
8.7 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $0 · Total expenses $330K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $330K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $330K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense (3-yr avg) $0 · Solicited contributions (3-yr avg) $6K
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $23K · Total revenue $393K
6%
Government reliance
Government grants $16K · Total revenue $393K
4%
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $365K · Total revenue $393K
93%
Investment reliance
Investment income $3K · Total revenue $393K
+0.7%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $365K · Total expenses $330K
111%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $393K · Prior year $352K
+12%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $286K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $393K · Expenses $330K
+16%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $307K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $286K · Total assets $307K
93%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) $133K · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) — · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $307K
43%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Sean Bernas · Reported title TRUSTEE (FOR · Highest reported compensation $37K · Total expenses $330K
11%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $155K · Total expenses $330K
47%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Overhead ratio 0%——
Fundraising cost ratio 0%——
Revenue growth 12%——
Investment management fee ratio 0.3%——
Legal fee ratio 0.06%——
Accounting fee ratio 3%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2023); the FY2024 filing did not itemize Part VII
Trustee (for
$36,777Pt VII · Sec A
$2,397Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Trustee (for
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 5 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021
Sean Bernas—$36,777$26,996$15,529$13,293
Michael Doyle—$2,397$27,064$27,716$24,825
Nicholas Gechell———$8,285—
Jill Rajla———$5,602$291
Carlos Camacho$122————

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Roofers Joint Apprentice and Educational Fund executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a8
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b6
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aYes
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Yes
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Yes
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNo
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2No

Mission and programs

Trains workers for careers in roofing and waterproofing.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Roofers Joint Apprentice and Educational Fund claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2023.
01

The training fund provided training for new applicants and journeymen in the roofing and waterproofing industry.

Pt IX · col B

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Filing history

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2025 Latest $405K$374K+3% 990 PDF
FY2024 Viewing $393K$330K+12% 990 PDF
FY2023 $352K$391K+6% 990 PDF
FY2022 $332K$315K-5% 990 PDF
FY2021 $351K$375K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Roofers Joint Apprentice and Educational Fund →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.