Karuna Foundation EIN 16-1731977

Karuna Foundation

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Sedona, AZ. It reported about $57K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $57K in revenue, $202K in expenses, and $1.9M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Sedona, AZ
Filings
6 on file (2020–2025)
Revenue
$57KFY2025
Expenses
$202K
Net assets
$1.9M
People
1
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  16-1731977 Private foundation / grantmaker Sedona, AZ
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Karuna Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Sedona, AZ. It reported about $57K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
Anne Cowett · Sole Director, President, Treasurer
Money in and out
$57K revenue, $202K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$57K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$202K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.9M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$144K
Total assets
1.9M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
155K
in FY2025
Grants made
16grants
total in period
Payout rate
8%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 16 grants · $155K · 2025–2025
Center for Victims of TortureFY2025$40,000
Amnesty International USAFY2025$20,000
Centurion MinistriesFY2025$14,000
Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & EducationFY2025$14,000
ACLU Foundation of ArizonaFY2025$13,000
Sedona RecyclesFY2025$12,000
Ashoka Innovators for the PublicFY2025$12,000
St Mary's Food Bank AllianceFY2025$10,000
Vitamin AngelsFY2025$6,000
Aba Fund for Justice and EducationFY2025$5,000
Fisher Center for Alzheimer's ResearchFY2025$2,000
Keep Sedona BeautifulFY2025$2,000
AclpiFY2025$2,000
Solar United NeighborsFY2025$1,000
Friends of the Forest INCFY2025$1,000
Sedona Public LibraryFY2025$1,000

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$10K
Median grantPart XV$10K
Largest grantPart XV$40K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$57K
FY2025▼ -57%
Expenses
$202K
FY2025▲ +0.8%
Total assets
$1.9M
FY2025▼ -7%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$57K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$202K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.9M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$1.9M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CKaruna Foundation
EINHdr · item D16-1731977
Principal addressHdr · item CSedona, AZ
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MAZ
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFOct 2005

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Sole Director, President, Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Karuna Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$57K
Total revenueLn 12$57K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.77 Operating & administrative $0.23
Grants & contributions paid77%$155K
Operating & administrative23%$47K
Total functional expensesLn 25$202K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$177K
Total assetsLn 16$1.9M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$1.9M
Months of cash on handcomputed10.5

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $1.9M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $57K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $57K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $57K · Prior year $134K
-57%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $110K · FY2025 $57K
-12%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $1.9M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $57K · Expenses $202K
-253%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $1.9M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $1.9M · Total assets $1.9M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Anne Cowett · Reported title SOLE DIRECTOR, PRESIDENT, TREASURER · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $202K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -57%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$57K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$134K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$9K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$174K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$196K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$110K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.