Helping Hand Foundation Tr EIN 13-7409533 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Helping Hand Foundation Tr

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Riverside, CT. It reported about $1.6M in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $1.6M in revenue, $308K in expenses, and $1.4M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Riverside, CT
Filings
5 on file (2020–2024)
Revenue
$1.6MFY2024
Expenses
$308K
Net assets
$1.4M
People
2
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  13-7409533 Private foundation / grantmaker Riverside, CT
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Helping Hand Foundation Tr claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$1–10M
What they do
A private foundation based in Riverside, CT. It reported about $1.6M in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Jonathan B Weiner · Trustee
Money in and out
$1.6M revenue, $308K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2024
Total revenue
$1.6M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$308K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.4M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $1.3M
Total assets
1.4M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
306K
in FY2024
Grants made
30grants
total in period
Payout rate
22%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 30 grants · $306K · 2024–2024
Christopher Reeve FoundationFY2024$75,000
Randall's Island Park AllianceFY2024$50,000
Ons FoundationFY2024$15,000
Stamford HospitalCT · FY2024$10,000
Planned ParenthoodTX · FY2024$7,744
Temple SholomFY2024$7,574
Tulane UniversityFY2024$5,200
Waterside School INCCT · FY2024$5,164
Impact Fairfield CountyFY2024$4,150
Greenwich United WayFY2024$3,626
YWCA GreenwichFY2024$2,591
JafcoFY2024$1,800
Dolphin CyclingFY2024$1,550
Horizons NationalFY2024$1,043
Parkinsons FoundationFY2024$1,030
Kids in CrisisFY2024$1,030
See all 30 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV7
Average grantPart XV$10K
Median grantPart XV$1K
Largest grantPart XV$108K
Top cause focusNTEEEducation (7%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$1.6M
FY2024▲ +491%
Expenses
$308K
FY2024▲ +51%
Total assets
$1.4M
FY2024▲ ×15
Total liabilities
$0
FY2024
Total revenue
$1.6M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$308K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.4M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$1.4M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CHelping Hand Foundation Tr
EINHdr · item D13-7409533
Principal addressHdr · item CRiverside, CT
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCT
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T21)
Ruling yearIRS BMFNov 2004

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Helping Hand Foundation Tr executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$1.6M · 99%
Investment income$10K · 1%
Contributions & grants99%$1.6M
Investment income1%$10K
Total revenueLn 12$1.6M

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.99 Operating & administrative $0.01
Grants & contributions paid99%$306K
Operating & administrative1%$3K
Total functional expensesLn 25$308K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$1.4M
Total assetsLn 16$1.4M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$1.4M
Months of cash on handcomputed55.3

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $1.4M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $1.6M
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $1.6M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $1.6M · Prior year $277K
+491%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $271K · FY2024 $1.6M
+57%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $1.4M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $1.6M · Expenses $308K
+81%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $1.4M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $1.4M · Total assets $1.4M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Jonathan B Weiner · Reported title TRUSTEE · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $308K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 491%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$1.6M revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$277K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$152K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$528K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$271K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.