Gulton Foundation INC EIN 13-6105207 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Gulton Foundation INC FY2021 filing

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Chester, NJ. It reported about $366K in revenue for 2020. For fiscal year 2021 it reported $366K in revenue, $595K in expenses, and $3.4M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Nonprofit
Location
Chester, NJ
Filings
5 on file (2021–2021)
Revenue
$366KFY2021
Expenses
$595K
Net assets
$3.4M
People
0
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  13-6105207 Private foundation / grantmaker Chester, NJ
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Gulton Foundation INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Chester, NJ. It reported about $366K in revenue for 2020.
Money in and out
$366K revenue, $595K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2021
Total revenue
$366K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$595K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.4M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$229K
Total assets
3.4M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
558K
in FY2021
Grants made
18grants
total in period
Payout rate
16%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 18 grants · $162K · 2024–2024
Washington National OperaDC · FY2024$50,000
Federalist Society theFY2024$30,000
Holy Name Foundation INCIN · FY2024$10,000
Nyc BalletFY2024$10,000
Barber Family FoundationFY2024$10,000
Post Classical Ensemble INCDC · FY2024$5,000
Weekend Book Parish for Homeless KidsFY2024$5,000
Signature TheaterFY2024$5,000
National Gallery of ArtMD · FY2024$5,000
Legal Services CorporationDC · FY2024$5,000
Friendship CircleFY2024$5,000
St Jude Children's HospitalFY2024$3,000
Mercy ShipsFY2024$3,000
Sgt Sullivan CenterFY2024$2,500
The Phillips CollectionDC · FY2024$2,500
Tenafly Volunteer Ambulance AssocFY2024$500

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV8
Average grantPart XV$9K
Median grantPart XV$5K
Largest grantPart XV$50K
Top cause focusNTEEArts & Culture (22%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$366K
FY2021
Expenses
$595K
FY2021
Total assets
$3.4M
FY2021
Total liabilities
$0
FY2021
Total revenue
$366K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$595K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$3.4M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$3.4M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CGulton Foundation INC
EINHdr · item D13-6105207
Principal addressHdr · item CChester, NJ
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MNJ
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFOct 1963

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Gulton Foundation INC executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$366K
Total revenueLn 12$366K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.94 Operating & administrative $0.06
Grants & contributions paid94%$558K
Operating & administrative6%$37K
Total functional expensesLn 25$595K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$78K
Total assetsLn 16$3.4M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$3.4M
Months of cash on handcomputed1.6

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $3.4M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $366K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $366K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $366K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $3.4M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $366K · Expenses $595K
-63%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $3.4M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $3.4M · Total assets $3.4M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $595K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$215K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$148K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$219K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$196K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$366K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.