The Grubman Compton Foundation FY2024 filing

New York, NY · Private foundation / grantmaker

Revenue
$994K
-22% vs prior year
Spent
$668K
Net assets
$860K
By yearFY2021–FY2025
Revenue
$994K
FY2024▼ -22%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2021$431K
FY2022$1.5M
FY2023$1.3M
FY2024$994K
FY2025$9K
Expenses
$668K
FY2024▼ -37%
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2021$1.3M
FY2022$1.4M
FY2023$1.1M
FY2024$668K
FY2025$869K
Net assets
$860K
FY2024▲ +61%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2021$311K
FY2022$356K
FY2023$534K
FY2024$860K
FY2025$0

From the FY2024 Form 990 (year ending July 2024) · see the original

You’re viewing the FY2024 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
Not on file
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Filed FY2024 (typical filing lag)
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CThe Grubman Compton Foundation
EINHdr · item D13-3936474
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Latest filingForm 990FY2025 · Form 990-PF
Principal addressHdr · item CNew York, NY
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit

Where the money goes

What each dollar paid for.

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.97 Operating & administrative $0.03
Grants & contributions paid97%$649K
Operating & administrative3%$19K
Total functional expensesLn 25$668K

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Total assets
860K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
649K
in FY2024
Grants made
7grants
total in period
Payout rate
75%
of assets (5% rule)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$860K
FY2024▲ +61%
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2021$311K
FY2022$356K
FY2023$534K
FY2024$860K
FY2025$0
Total liabilities
$0
FY2024
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2021$0
FY2022$0
FY2023$0
FY2024$0
FY2025$0
Total assetsPt II$860K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$860K
Total assetsLn 16$860K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$860K
Months of cash on handcomputed15.5

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$870K · 87%
Investment income$124K · 13%
Contributions & grants87%$870K
Investment income13%$124K
Total revenueLn 12$994K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $860K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $994K
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $994K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $994K · Prior year $1.3M
-22%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $860K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $994K · Expenses $668K
+33%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $860K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $860K · Total assets $860K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $668K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -22%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2022); the FY2024 filing did not itemize Part VII
Trustee/Part-Time
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Trustee/Part-Time
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See The Grubman Compton Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • –Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • –Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNot reported
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Not reported
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Not reported
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNot reported
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2Not reported

Mission and programs

What it does.

A private foundation based in New York, NY.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until The Grubman Compton Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Grants and how to apply

Who it funds, and how to ask.

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 7 grants · $863K · 2024–2024
US Naval Academy Alumni Association & FoundationFY2024$391,667
Overlook FoundationNJ · FY2024$300,000
Leadville Trail 100 LegacFY2024$50,000
Christ Church SummitFY2024$25,000
Northfield Mt Hermon SchoolFY2024$20,000
Marine Corps Scholarship FoundationFY2024$15,000

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV2
Average grantPart XV$123K
Median grantPart XV$50K
Largest grantPart XV$392K
Top cause focusNTEEFoundations & Grantmakers (14%)

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2025 Latest $9K$869K-99% 990 PDF
FY2024 Viewing $994K$668K-22% 990 PDF
FY2023 $1.3M$1.1M-12% 990 PDF
FY2022 $1.5M$1.4M+237% 990 PDF
FY2021 $431K$1.3M 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.