Robin Smith Charitable Trust EIN 11-6330786

Robin Smith Charitable Trust FY2020 filing

EIN  11-6330786 Private foundation / grantmaker Tequesta, FL
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2020 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Robin Smith Charitable Trust claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Tequesta, FL. It reported about $110K in revenue for 2020.
Money in and out
$110K revenue, $94K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Tequesta, FL. It reported about $110K in revenue for 2020. For fiscal year 2020 it reported $110K in revenue, $94K in expenses, and $1.2M in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2020
Total revenue
$110K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$94K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.2M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $16K
Total assets
1.2M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
88K
in FY2020
Grants made
33grants
total in period
Payout rate
7%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 33 grants · $450K · 2025–2025
Maltz TheatreFY2025$244,991
Fau FoundationFY2025$130,000
The Baldwin SchoolFY2025$25,000
Palm Beach SymphonyFY2025$20,000
Wellesley CollegeFY2025$6,100
Harvard Business SchoolFY2025$5,000
BmccFY2025$3,650
Poets and WritersFY2025$3,000
Olle (lifelong Learning) JupiterFY2025$3,000
Jupiter Medical FoundationFY2025$2,500
Trinity CollegeFY2025$2,000
Metropolitan MuseumFY2025$600
South Florida PBSFY2025$500
ThirteenFY2025$500
House of the Good ShepherdFY2025$500
Adirondack ExperienceFY2025$250
YWCA Mohawk ValleyFY2025$250
Trustbridge HospiceFY2025$200
See all 33 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$14K
Median grantPart XV$250
Largest grantPart XV$245K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$110K
FY2020
Expenses
$94K
FY2020
Total assets
$1.2M
FY2020
Total liabilities
$0
FY2020
Total revenue
$110K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$94K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$1.2M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$1.2M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CRobin Smith Charitable Trust
EINHdr · item D11-6330786
Principal addressHdr · item CTequesta, FL
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MFL
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFApr 1987

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Robin Smith Charitable Trust executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$110K
Total revenueLn 12$110K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.94 Operating & administrative $0.06
Grants & contributions paid94%$88K
Operating & administrative6%$6K
Total functional expensesLn 25$94K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$312K
Total assetsLn 16$1.2M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$1.2M
Months of cash on handcomputed39.9

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $1.2M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $110K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $110K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $110K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $1.2M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $110K · Expenses $94K
+15%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $1.2M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $1.2M · Total assets $1.2M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $94K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$448K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$127K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$131K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$105K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$192K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$110K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.