Herbert O Wolfe Foundation INC EIN 11-6012915

Herbert O Wolfe Foundation INC

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Belmont, MA. It reported about $49K in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $49K in revenue, $124K in expenses, and $17K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Nonprofit
Location
Belmont, MA
Filings
6 on file (2020–2025)
Revenue
$49KFY2025
Expenses
$124K
Net assets
$17K
People
6
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  11-6012915 Private foundation / grantmaker Belmont, MA
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Herbert O Wolfe Foundation INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Belmont, MA. It reported about $49K in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Louise Wolfe · President, Treasurer, Director
Money in and out
$49K revenue, $124K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$49K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$124K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$17K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$75K
Total assets
17K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
113K
in FY2025
Grants made
22grants
total in period
Payout rate
646%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 22 grants · $113K · 2024–2024
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center INC ( Beth Israel Lahey Health)for DrFY2024$30,000
Michael J Fox Foundation for Parkinson's ResearchFY2024$15,000
Jewish Family & Children's Services of San Franciscothe Peninsulamarin & SFY2024$10,000
Boca Raton Regional Hospital Foundation- for League of Ribbons Lynn CancerFY2024$10,000
Congregation Beth Sholom - for San Francisco Ca Center for Lifelong LearninFY2024$8,000
Louis D Brandeis Center INCDC · FY2024$8,000
American Friends of Mogen David Adom (afmda)FY2024$6,000
The Second Step INCFY2024$4,000
Pasadena Community Foundation - Matthew Schwartz Memorial FundFY2024$4,000
Combined Jewish Philanthropies (cjp)FY2024$3,000
Jewish Family & Children's Service Waltham MaFY2024$2,000
Fare (food Allergy Research & Education)FY2024$2,000
Multiple Myeloma Research FoundationFY2024$2,000
MIT - for MIT HillelFY2024$1,000
Columbia Barnard Hillel INCNY · FY2024$1,000
Chabad - University of Minnesota - the Rohr Center for Jewish Student LifeFY2024$1,000
U Mass Hillel at AmherstFY2024$1,000
University of Texas at Austin HillelFY2024$1,000
See all 22 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV2
Average grantPart XV$5K
Median grantPart XV$2K
Largest grantPart XV$30K
Top cause focusNTEEReligion (5%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$49K
FY2025▼ -34%
Expenses
$124K
FY2025▼ -21%
Total assets
$17K
FY2025▼ -83%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$49K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$124K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$17K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$17K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CHerbert O Wolfe Foundation INC
EINHdr · item D11-6012915
Principal addressHdr · item CBelmont, MA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MMA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFDec 1960

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2024); the FY2025 filing did not itemize Part VII
President, Treasurer, Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Herbert O Wolfe Foundation INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$49K
Total revenueLn 12$49K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.91 Operating & administrative $0.09
Grants & contributions paid91%$113K
Operating & administrative9%$11K
Total functional expensesLn 25$124K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$17K
Total assetsLn 16$17K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$17K
Months of cash on handcomputed1.7

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $17K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $49K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $49K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $49K · Prior year $74K
-34%
Revenue CAGR
FY2019 $42K · FY2024 $49K
+3%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $17K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $49K · Expenses $124K
-154%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $17K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $17K · Total assets $17K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Louise Wolfe · Reported title PRESIDENT, TREASURER, DIRECTOR · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $124K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -34%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$49K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$74K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$56K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$73K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$83K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$42K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.