Sanborn Seminary EIN 02-0222233

Sanborn Seminary

EIN  02-0222233 Private foundation / grantmaker Kingston, NH
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Sanborn Seminary claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Funds students for education and scholarships.
Leadership
Charlton Swasey · President
Money in and out
$188K revenue, $188K expenses
Bottom line

Funds students for education and scholarships. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $188K in revenue, $188K in expenses, and $909K in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$188K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$188K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$909K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $811
Total assets
909K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
144K
in FY2025
Grants made
8grants
total in period
Payout rate
16%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 8 grants · $144K · 2024–2024
Kingston Historical MuseumFY2024$72,179
Sanborn Regional High SchoolFY2024$41,759
Sanborn Regional Music BoostersFY2024$20,625
Southeastern Regional Education SerFY2024$5,330
Nh School of Mechanical TradesFY2024$2,000
Husson UniversityME · FY2024$1,000
University of New HampshireFY2024$750
Rochester Institute TechFY2024$750

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV1
Average grantPart XV$18K
Median grantPart XV$5K
Largest grantPart XV$72K
Top cause focusNTEEColleges & Universities (12%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$188K
FY2025▲ +194%
Expenses
$188K
FY2025▲ +414%
Total assets
$909K
FY20250%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$188K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$188K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$909K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$909K
Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service account for $23K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2022.
01

The organization raises money and manages an investment account that supports sanborn high school and students of sanborn school district through student scholarships and aid to the high school budget.

$23Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CSanborn Seminary
EINHdr · item D02-0222233
Principal addressHdr · item CKingston, NH
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MNH
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFColleges & Universities (B58Z)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJul 1950

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2022); the FY2025 filing did not itemize Part VII
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice Preside
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Sanborn Seminary executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$188K
Total revenueLn 12$188K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.77 Operating & administrative $0.23
Grants & contributions paid77%$144K
Operating & administrative23%$43K
Total functional expensesLn 25$188K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$41K
Total assetsLn 16$909K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$909K
Months of cash on handcomputed2.6

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $909K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $188K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $188K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $188K · Prior year $64K
+194%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $64K · FY2024 $188K
+31%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $909K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $188K · Expenses $188K
0%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $909K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $909K · Total assets $909K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $188K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 194%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$188K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$64K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$62K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$76K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$64K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.