Adams Fund FY2020 filing

Los Angeles, CA · Private foundation / grantmaker

✓ Tax-deductible
Revenue
$1.7M
Spent
$1.0M
Net assets
$490K
By yearFY2020–FY2025
Revenue
$1.7M
FY2020
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2020$1.7M
FY2021$2.0M
FY2022$2.5M
FY2023$2.6M
FY2024$1.8M
FY2025$853K
Expenses
$1.0M
FY2020
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2020$1.0M
FY2021$1.2M
FY2022$928K
FY2023$1.1M
FY2024$1.0M
FY2025$1.4M
Net assets
$490K
FY2020
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2020$490K
FY2021$744K
FY2022$884K
FY2023$766K
FY2024$91K
FY2025−$478K

From the FY2020 Form 990 · see the original

You’re viewing the FY2020 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Yes — filed FY2025
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CAdams Fund
EINHdr · item D95-6015986
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFOct 1961
Latest filingForm 990FY2025 · Form 990-PF
Principal addressHdr · item CLos Angeles, CA
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit

Where the money goes

What each dollar paid for.

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.95 Operating & administrative $0.05
Grants & contributions paid95%$983K
Operating & administrative5%$48K
Total functional expensesLn 25$1.0M

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Total assets
1.7M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
983K
in FY2020
Grants made
57grants
total in period
Payout rate
57%
of assets (5% rule)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2020 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$1.7M
FY2020
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2020$1.7M
FY2021$2.1M
FY2022$2.4M
FY2023$2.3M
FY2024$2.5M
FY2025$2.3M
Total liabilities
$1.2M
FY2020
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2020$1.2M
FY2021$1.3M
FY2022$1.5M
FY2023$1.5M
FY2024$2.4M
FY2025$2.8M
Total assetsPt II$1.7M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$1.1M
Total assetsLn 16$1.7M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$1.2M
Total net assetsLn 32$490K
Months of cash on handcomputed13.4

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$1.0M · 61%
Investment income$377K · 22%
Other revenue$287K · 17%
Contributions & grants61%$1.0M
Investment income22%$377K
Other revenue17%$287K
Total revenueLn 12$1.7M

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2020 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $1.7M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $1.7M
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $1.7M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $1.7M · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $490K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $1.7M · Expenses $1.0M
+39%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $1.7M
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $490K · Total assets $1.7M
28%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $1.0M
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Adams Fund executive salaries →

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • –Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • –Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNot reported
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Not reported
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Not reported
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNot reported
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2Not reported

Mission and programs

What it does.

A private foundation based in Los Angeles, CA.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Adams Fund claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Grants and how to apply

Who it funds, and how to ask.

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 57 grants · $1.3M · 2025–2025
Hoag HospitalFY2025$300,000
Havard Westlake SchoolFY2025$100,000
St Francis High SchoolFY2025$98,900
Catholic Education FoundationFY2025$75,000
Killebrew-Thompson Memorial FundFY2025$68,000
Breakthrough T1dFY2025$55,600
Jserra Catholic High SchoolFY2025$55,000
Santa Ynez Band of Chumash IndiansFY2025$54,000
California Art ClubFY2025$52,000
World Business AcademyFY2025$30,000
Childrens HospitalFY2025$27,500
St Bede the Venerable ParishFY2025$25,000
SchoolpowerFY2025$25,000
Hollenbeck PalmsFY2025$25,000
Doctors Without BordersFY2025$25,000
City of HopeFY2025$22,500
Education for All ChildrenFY2025$22,000
St Johns Healthcare FoundationFY2025$20,000
See all 57 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$23K
Median grantPart XV$8K
Largest grantPart XV$300K

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2025 Latest $853K$1.4M-52% 990 PDF
FY2024 $1.8M$1.0M-32% 990 PDF
FY2023 $2.6M$1.1M+5% 990 PDF
FY2022 $2.5M$928K+26% 990 PDF
FY2021 $2.0M$1.2M+16% 990 PDF
FY2020 Viewing $1.7M$1.0M 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2020IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.