Natcast INC EIN 93-4007133 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Natcast INC

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

Operates the National Semiconductor Technology Center to advance chip research and manufacturing. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $55.8M in revenue, $51.2M in expenses, and $4.5M in net assets.Pt I

Founded
2023
Type
Unknown exempt organization · Nonprofit
Location
Sunnyvale, CA
Website
www.natcast.org
Filings
2 on file (2024–2025)
Revenue
$55.8MFY2025
Expenses
$51.2M
Net assets
$4.5M
People
21
Filings
2
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  93-4007133 Unknown exempt organization Sunnyvale, CA Founded 2023
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Natcast INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$10–100M
What they do
Operates the National Semiconductor Technology Center to advance chip research and manufacturing.
Leadership
Deirdre Hanford · Chief Executive Officer · $762K
Money in and out
$55.8M revenue, $51.2M expenses
Bottom line
+8% surplus margin
Reported financial activity · FY2025
Total revenue
$55.8M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$51.2M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$4.5M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $4.6M
Where spending went · Part IX cols B–D
Program services $0.02 Management & general $0.06
Surplus margin
+8%
revenue over expenses, this year▲ +894% vs prior filing year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990
Revenue
$55.8M
FY2025▲ +323%
Expenses
$51.2M
FY2025▲ +284%
Total assets
$23.9M
FY2025▲ +329%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025▲ +240%
Total revenue
$55.8M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$51.2M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$4.5M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$4.6M
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$23.9M
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B2%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 35
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 44

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CNatcast INC
EINHdr · item D93-4007133
Principal addressHdr · item CSunnyvale, CA
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.natcast.org
Year of formationHdr · item L2023
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFpending

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a5
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b4
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aYes
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Yes
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Yes
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aYes
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2No

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2024); the FY2025 filing did not itemize Part VII
Chief Executive Officer
$761,540Pt VII · Sec A
Chief Financial Officer
$378,192Pt VII · Sec A
SVP, Reasearch
$334,615Pt VII · Sec A
SVP, Ecosystem Development
$291,461Pt VII · Sec A
Senior Counsel, IP
$279,937Pt VII · Sec A
Controller
$269,414Pt VII · Sec A
General Counsel, Secretary
$263,182Pt VII · Sec A
Senior Counsel
$241,775Pt VII · Sec A
See Natcast INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

3 program services account for $1.1M of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2024.
01

Workforce developmentduring the period october 1, 2025 through november 14, 2025, natcast's efforts concentrated on its winddown efforts, initiated with the U.S. Department of commerce's august 25, 2025 letter.

$916Kprogram expense
02

Research and developmentduring the period october 1, 2025 through november 14, 2025, natcast's efforts concentrated on its winddown efforts, initiated with the U.S. Department of commerce's august 25, 2025 letter.

$154Kprogram expense
03

Design enablement gatewayduring the period october 1, 2025 through november 14, 2025, natcast's efforts concentrated on its winddown efforts, initiated with the U.S. Department of commerce's august 25, 2025 letter.

$33Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue$53.7M · 96%
Contributions & grants$1.8M · 3%
Investment income$298K · 1%
Other revenue96%$53.7M
Contributions & grants3%$1.8M
Investment income1%$298K
— government grantsLn 1e$1.8M
Total revenueLn 12$55.8M

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Program services $0.02 Management & general $0.06
Program services2%$922K
Management & general6%$2.9M
Total functional expensesLn 25$51.2M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16$23.9M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$4.5M

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves — · Operating expenses/yr $51.2M
Highly liquid reserves (cash & marketable securities on Pt X) ÷ monthly operating expenses (Pt IX total, less non-cash grants & depreciation when reported).
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $922K · Total expenses $3.9M
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $2.9M · Total expenses $3.9M
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $3.9M
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense (2-yr avg) $0 · Solicited contributions (2-yr avg) $0
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $1.8M · Total revenue $55.8M
3%
Government reliance
Government grants $1.8M · Total revenue $55.8M
3%
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $-2.7M · Total revenue $55.8M
-5%
Investment reliance
Investment income $298K · Total revenue $55.8M
+0.5%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $-2.7M · Total expenses $51.2M
-5%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $55.8M · Prior year $13.2M
+323%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $4.5M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $55.8M · Expenses $51.2M
+8%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $23.9M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $4.5M · Total assets $23.9M
19%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) $0 · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) $0 · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $23.9M
0%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Deirdre Hanford · Reported title CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER · Highest reported compensation $762K · Total expenses $51.2M
1%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $1.3M · Total expenses $51.2M
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Program ratio 2%
Overhead ratio 6%
Fundraising cost ratio 0%
Revenue growth 323%
Legal fee ratio 0.1%
Accounting fee ratio 0.6%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · this organization's grantmaking
Grants paid · 3 grants · $880K · 2024–2024
Texas A&m Engineering Experiment StationFY2024$384,209

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$55.8M revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$13.2M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.