Skipping Stones EIN 93-1095484 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Skipping Stones

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

Promotes multicultural, nature, and ecological understanding in youth through a magazine and website. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $111K in revenue, $107K in expenses, and $153K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Public charity (501(c)(3)) · Unclassified
Location
Eugene, OR
Website
www.skippingstones.org
Filings
6 on file (2020–2025)
Revenue
$111KFY2025
Expenses
$107K
Net assets
$153K
People
6
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  93-1095484 Public charity (501(c)(3)) Eugene, OR
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Skipping Stones claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Promotes multicultural, nature, and ecological understanding in youth through a magazine and website.
Leadership
Arun N Toke · Executive Editor · $65K
Money in and out
$111K revenue, $107K expenses
Bottom line
17.7mo operating runway
Where the money goes · FY2025
Total revenue
$111K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$107K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$153K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $4K
Where spending went · Part IX cols B–D
Program services $1.00
Operating runway
17.7mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate▲ +2% vs prior filing year
Surplus margin
+4%
revenue over expenses, this year▼ -87% vs prior filing year
Revenue trend
-15%
avg. annual growth over 5 years▼ -14% vs prior filing year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990
Revenue
$111K
FY2025▼ -22%
Expenses
$107K
FY2025▼ -60%
Total assets
$162K
FY2025▲ +1%
Total liabilities
$9K
FY2025▼ -7%
Total revenue
$111K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$107K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$153K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$4K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$162K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B100%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3pending
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending
Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

3 program services account for $103K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2020.
01

Code

511120. Published and distributed our advertisement-free, multicultural and nature education magazine for students, parents, educators and libraries, to promote creative writing, art and critical thinking and interactions in youth. Average print run: 925.

$94Kprogram expense
02

We sent educational reading material for low-income schools, libraries, families and organizations serving low-income youth. Under this program, we sent free and discounted subscriptions, free back issues of our magazines and donations of books to about 125 schools/libraries, and about 500 students, near and far.

$5Kprogram expense
03

Code

511120. We held two annual honor award programs to recognize multicultural awareness and nature education in juvenile literature, as well as in teaching resources. The Youth Honor Awards program promotes creativity in children and youth, and serves kids and educators.

$4Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CSkipping Stones
EINHdr · item D93-1095484
Principal addressHdr · item CEugene, OR
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.skippingstones.org
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MOR
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFUnclassified (Z99Z)
Ruling yearIRS BMFFeb 1993

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Executive Editor
$65,000Pt VII · Sec A
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 1 named individual · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021FY2020
Arun N Toke$65,000$65,000$53,751$80,000$80,000$80,000

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Skipping Stones executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue100%$111K
Total revenueLn 12$111K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Program services $1.00
Program services100%$107K
Total functional expensesLn 25$107K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16$162K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$9K
Total net assetsLn 32$153K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $157K · Operating expenses/yr $107K
17.7 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $25K · Total revenue $111K
22%
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $81K · Total revenue $111K
73%
Investment reliance
Investment income $5K · Total revenue $111K
+4%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $81K · Total expenses $107K
76%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $111K · Prior year $143K
-22%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $254K · FY2025 $111K
-15%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $153K · Beginning of year $149K
+3%
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $111K · Expenses $107K
+4%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities $9K · Total assets $162K
6%
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $153K · Total assets $162K
94%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Arun N Toke · Reported title EXECUTIVE EDITOR · Highest reported compensation $65K · Total expenses $107K
61%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits $86K · Total expenses $107K
81%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Program ratio 100%
Revenue growth -22%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · received and paid
Grants received · FY2024
Total grants receivedfrom 1 funder$7K
Grants paid · 1 grant · $154K · 2020–2020

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Skipping Stones →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$111K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$143K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$146K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$70K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$95K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$254K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.