Whirlwind Dance Corp EIN 88-0525473

Whirlwind Dance Corp

EIN  88-0525473 Public charity (501(c)(3)) Columbus, OH
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Whirlwind Dance Corp claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
An arts and culture nonprofit based in Columbus, OH. It reported about $74K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
Joshua Manculich · Founder and Artistic Director · $5K
Money in and out
$74K revenue, $71K expenses
Bottom line
1.3mo operating runway

An arts and culture nonprofit based in Columbus, OH. It reported about $74K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $74K in revenue, $71K in expenses, and $8K in net assets.Pt I

Where the money goes · FY2025
Total revenue
$74K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$71K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$8K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $3K
Where spending went · Part IX cols B–D
Program services $1.00
Operating runway
1.3mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate▲ +160% vs prior filing year
Surplus margin
+4%
revenue over expenses, this year▲ +583% vs prior filing year
Donor-funded
60%
of revenue is gifts & grants▲ +27% vs prior filing year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990
Revenue
$74K
FY2025▼ -25%
Total revenue
$74K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$71K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$8K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$3K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$8K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B100%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3pending
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CWhirlwind Dance Corp
EINHdr · item D88-0525473
Principal addressHdr · item CColumbus, OH
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MOH
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFArts & Culture (A62)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJun 2022

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Founder and Artistic Director
$4,930Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary
$2,750Pt VII · Sec A
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Fundraising Specialist
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Joshua Manculich’s $5K as Founder and Artistic Director is at the 26th percentile of top reported officer pay among 250 <$100K arts & culture nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 2 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023
Joshua Manculich$4,930$6,075$3,000
Ty Manculich$2,750

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Whirlwind Dance Corp executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$44K · 60%
Other revenue$30K · 40%
Contributions & grants60%$44K
Other revenue40%$30K
Total revenueLn 12$74K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Program services $1.00
Program services100%$71K
Total functional expensesLn 25$71K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16$8K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$8K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $8K · Operating expenses/yr $71K
1.3 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $44K · Total revenue $74K
60%
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $30K · Total revenue $74K
40%
Investment reliance
Investment income — · Total revenue $74K
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $30K · Total expenses $71K
42%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $74K · Prior year $98K
-25%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $8K · Beginning of year $4K
+71%
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $74K · Expenses $71K
+4%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $8K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $8K · Total assets $8K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Joshua Manculich · Reported title Founder and Artistic Director · Highest reported compensation $5K · Total expenses $71K
7%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits $38K · Total expenses $71K
54%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Program ratio 100%
Revenue growth -25%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2025
Total grants receivedfrom 1 funder$31K

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Whirlwind Dance Corp →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$74K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$98K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$98K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.