Pegasus Media Project

Dallas, TX · Public charity (501(c)(3)) · Education

✓ Tax-deductible
Revenue
$157K
+32% vs prior year
Net assets
$99K
By yearFY2021–FY2024
Revenue
$157K
FY2024▲ +32%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2021$188K
FY2022$64K
FY2023$119K
FY2024$157K
Net assets
$99K
FY2024▲ +266%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2021$66K
FY2022$29K
FY2023$27K
FY2024$99K

From the FY2024 Form 990 (year ending June 2024) · see the original

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Filed FY2024 (typical filing lag)
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CPegasus Media Project
EINHdr · item D86-3579065
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFSep 2021
Latest filingForm 990FY2024 · Form 990-EZ
Principal addressHdr · item CDallas, TX
NTEE classificationIRS BMFEducation (B99)
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.pegasusmediaproject.com

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Operating runway
12.1mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate▲ +124% vs prior filing year
Surplus margin
+46%
revenue over expenses, this year▲ ×25 vs prior filing year
Donor-funded
95%
of revenue is gifts & grants▲ +6% vs prior filing year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-EZ
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19—
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16—
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B—
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 317
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 416

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$182K
Total assetsLn 16—
Total liabilitiesLn 26$57K
Total net assetsLn 32$99K

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$241K · 153%
Program service revenue$56K · 36%
Investment income$2K · 1%
Contributions & grants153%$241K
Program service revenue36%$56K
Investment income1%$2K
— government grantsLn 1e$86K
Total revenueLn 12$157K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $86K · Operating expenses/yr $86K
12.1 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $150K · Total revenue $157K
95%
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $6K · Total revenue $157K
4%
Investment reliance
Investment income $983 · Total revenue $157K
+0.6%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $6K · Total expenses $86K
7%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $157K · Prior year $119K
+32%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $99K · Beginning of year $27K
+266%
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $157K · Expenses $86K
+46%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities $57K · Total assets $156K
37%
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $99K · Total assets $156K
63%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Niloo Jalilvand · Reported title Co-Founder Exec Dir · Highest reported compensation $52K · Total expenses $86K
61%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits $30K · Total expenses $86K
35%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Fundraising cost ratio 6%——
Revenue growth 32%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Co-Founder Exec Dir
$52,000Pt VII · Sec A
Co-Founder, Chair
$24,000Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Niloo Jalilvand’s $52K as Co-Founder Exec Dir is at the 44th percentile of top reported officer pay among 1613 $100K–1M education nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 4 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021
Niloo Jalilvand$52,000$16,000$36,000$8,000
Niloo Jaliilvand$24,000———
Christian Vasquez———$18,000
Tamitha Curiel—$6,000——

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Pegasus Media Project executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • 17Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • 16Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14No
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aYes
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2No

Mission and programs

What it does.

Empowers diverse communities through transformative film and media arts education and career support.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Pegasus Media Project claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

3 program services account for $88K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2024.
01

Pegasus Film Festival

Celebrating its 10th year Pegasus Film Festival is the nations largest youth-operated film festival providing a stage for budding young artists from various backgrounds to showcase their talents to a worldwide audience.

$41Kprogram expense
02

Multimedia Apprentice Program

Verified by the Department of Labor this program provides on-the-job training in all production phases with local media professionals. In partnership with industry leaders it offers underserved artists a pathway to success in film and media. Apprentices work on three short films and two nonprofit videos as a cohort.

$25Kprogram expense
03

"Harmonies of Humanity" is an innovative event that unites renowned international artists and launches the inaugural Human Rights Dallas Film Series. This series initiates discussions on global human rights issues commencing with the screening of "Nowhere Left to Go - The Jahalin Bedouin 2012." The presence of the films producer and…

$21Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Funders

Who pays for it.

From grant filings on record. Receipts are incomplete: individual donors are never listed.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2024
See all 4 funders →

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2024 Latest Viewing $157K—+32% 990 PDF
FY2023 $119K—+86% 990 PDF
FY2022 $64K—-66% 990 PDF
FY2021 $188K— 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Pegasus Media Project →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.