Pham Foundation FY2023 filing

Tax-deductible

San Ramon, CA501(c)(3)Foundations & GrantmakersEIN 86-1609883

501(c)(3) charity; gifts are tax-deductible.
Status: IRS Pub. 78

Before you give

FY2023 · Form 990-PFIndependent: from IRS data, not the org
Download 990
IRS status
501(c)(3)
not on the IRS revocation list
Looks good: listed by the IRS and not on the revocation list.
IRS BMF · Auto-Revocation List
Tax-deductible gifts
Yes
Donations are tax-deductible
Looks good: the IRS lists gifts to it as deductible.
IRS Pub. 78 · IRS BMF
Latest return
FY2025
latest Form 990-PF
Looks good: the latest return is for FY2025, 1 tax year back; within 2 tax years.
IRS e-file · Filing history
Surplus or deficit
4 of 5
filings with a surplus
Average surplus $108K a year · 91% of revenue · last 5 filings
Fine: a surplus in 4 of the last 5 filings.
990-PF Pt I · 5 filings
Cash reserves
253 mo
of spending, in cash
Looks good: 252.9 months of spending in cash; 3 or more.
Pt X · Ln 1–2 · Pt I · Ln 18
Liabilities
$0
0% of total assets
Looks good: liabilities are 0% of assets; 50% or less.
990-PF Pt II
Looks goodFineWorth a lookConcernNo data yetTap a box for the reason.
Revenue
$7K
Spent
$1K
Net assets
$28K
By yearFY2021–FY2025
Revenue
$7K
FY2023
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2021$14K
FY2022$0
FY2023$7K
FY2024$467K
FY2025$106K
Expenses
$1K
FY2023▼ -19%
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2021$575
FY2022$2K
FY2023$1K
FY2024$25K
FY2025$28K
Net assets
$28K
FY2023▲ +106%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2021$13K
FY2022$14K
FY2023$28K
FY2024$493K
FY2025$629K

From the FY2023 Form 990 · see the original

You’re viewing the FY2023 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Yes — filed FY2025
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CPham Foundation
EINHdr · item D86-1609883
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFMay 2021
Latest filingForm 990FY2025 · Form 990-PF
Principal addressHdr · item CSan Ramon, CA
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)

Where the money goes

What each dollar paid for.

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.52 Operating & administrative $0.48
Grants & contributions paid52%$700
Operating & administrative48%$650
Total functional expensesLn 25$1K

Finances

Money in and out, what it owns and owes

Total assets
28K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
700
in FY2023
Grants made
19grants
total in period
Payout rate
2%
of assets (5% rule)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$28K
FY2023▲ +106%
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2021$13K
FY2022$14K
FY2023$28K
FY2024$493K
FY2025$629K
Total liabilities
$0
FY2023
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2021$0
FY2022$0
FY2023$0
FY2024$0
FY2025$0
Total assetsPt II$28K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$28K
Total assetsLn 16$28K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$28K
Months of cash on handcomputed252.9

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants100%$7K
Total revenueLn 12$7K

Money in detail

Form 990 · FY2023 · each figure shown with the dollars behind it
Cash and giving out
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $28K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $7K
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $7K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue change from last year
This year $7K · Prior year $0
Prior-year revenue below floor — showing dollar change
Net assets change over the year
End of year $28K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus or deficit, as % of revenue
Revenue $7K · Expenses $1K
+81%
Debts compared to what it owns
Total liabilities — · Total assets $28K
—
Net assets compared to what it owns
Net assets $28K · Total assets $28K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Scott Pham · Reported title President · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $1K
0%
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A share is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown. Peer cohort: .

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice President
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 2 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024
Scott Pham$5,000$5,000
Tam Duong$5,000$5,000

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Pham Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • –Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • –Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNot reported
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Not reported
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Not reported
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNot reported
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2Not reported

Mission and programs

What it does.

A private foundation based in San Ramon, CA.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Pham Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Grants and how to apply

Who it funds, and how to ask.

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 19 grants · $14K · 2025–2025
Fine Arts Museums of San FranciscoFY2025$2,160
Dvhs Snap RaiseFY2025$2,000
California Academy of ScienceFY2025$1,164
The Gardens of Golden ParkFY2025$1,000
The University of California BerkeleyFY2025$1,000
Conservation Society of CaliforniaFY2025$1,000
The ExploratoriumFY2025$938
Monterey Bay AquariumFY2025$844
Happy Hollow Zoo&parkFY2025$664
Iron Horse Middle SchoolFY2025$650
Dougherty Valley High SchoolFY2025$575
Tracy High SchoolFY2025$500
UNICEFFY2025$500
Iron Horse Middle School Ed FundFY2025$400
Dvhs Education FundFY2025$400
KqedFY2025$200
Hakone GardenFY2025$200
San Ramon Valley Unified School DistrictFY2025$100
See all 19 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$758
Median grantPart XV$650
Largest grantPart XV$2K

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2025 Latest $106K$28K-77% 990 PDF
FY2024 $467K$25K×67 990 PDF
FY2023 Viewing $7K$1K 990 PDF
FY2022 $0$2K-100% 990 PDF
FY2021 $14K$575 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Pham Foundation →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.