Braided Seeds EIN 85-2607807

Braided Seeds

EIN  85-2607807 Public charity (501(c)(3)) Tukwila, WA Founded 2020
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Braided Seeds claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Offers BIPOC people chances to rest, restore, and reconnect with the land.
Leadership
Ashleigh Shoecraft · Executive Director · $50K
Money in and out
$313K revenue, $307K expenses
Bottom line
3.4mo operating runway

Offers BIPOC people chances to rest, restore, and reconnect with the land. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $313K in revenue, $307K in expenses, and $81K in net assets.Pt I

Where the money goes · FY2025
Total revenue
$313K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$307K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$81K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $6K
Where spending went · Part IX cols B–D
Program services $0.68
Operating runway
3.4mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate▼ -21% vs prior filing year
Surplus margin
+2%
revenue over expenses, this year▼ -53% vs prior filing year
Revenue trend
+34%
avg. annual growth over 5 years

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990
Revenue
$313K
FY2025▲ +28%
Expenses
$307K
FY2025▲ +31%
Total assets
$81K
FY2025▲ +8%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$313K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$307K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$81K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$6K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$81K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B68%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 37
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 47
Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

3 program services account for $208K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2025.
01

Braided Seeds provided youth-centered outdoor education programs that increase equitable access to nature environmental education and culturally grounded learning opportunities for youth in King County and Pierce County.

$96Kprogram expense
02

Braided Seeds facilitated and participated in 12 community days and events designed to expand equitable access to outdoor spaces and environmental learning. Programs included a BIPOC Wilderness First Aid WFA course community sponsorship initiatives supporting more than 445 participants and an international Back to the Root learning…

$77Kprogram expense
03

Braided Seeds distributed 615 passes to local and national public lands including Washington State Discover Passes and 101 America the Beautiful National Park Passes. These passes expanded equitable access to public lands.

$35Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CBraided Seeds
EINHdr · item D85-2607807
Principal addressHdr · item CTukwila, WA
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.braidedseeds.org
Year of formationHdr · item L2020
State of legal domicileHdr · item MWA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFEnvironment (C60)
Ruling yearIRS BMFOct 2021

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a7
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b7
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aYes
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14No
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNo
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2Yes

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Executive Director
$49,744Pt VII · Sec A
Youth and Family Programs Coordinator
$27,268Pt VII · Sec A
Youth and Family Programs Coordinator
$25,008Pt VII · Sec A
Community Engagement Coordinator
$9,329Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member at Large
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member at Large
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member at Large
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Ashleigh Shoecraft’s $50K as Executive Director is at the 30th percentile of top reported officer pay among 1981 $100K–1M environment nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 7 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021
Ashleigh Shoecraft$49,744$40,977$33,705$29,952$7,488
Erandy Bucio-Flores$27,268
Chioma Uruakpa$25,008
Eya Lazaro$13,275
Taylor Tinsley$10,900
Felicia Tran$10,377
Maria Lazaro$9,329

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Braided Seeds executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$301K · 96%
Program service revenue$10K · 3%
Investment income$2K · 1%
Contributions & grants96%$301K
Program service revenue3%$10K
Investment income1%$2K
— government grantsLn 1e$151K
Total revenueLn 12$313K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Program services $0.68
Program services68%$208K
Total functional expensesLn 25$307K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$81K
Total assetsLn 16$81K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$81K
Months of cash on handcomputed3.2

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $81K · Operating expenses (Pt IX) $307K · Less non-cash grants $19K · Cash operating expenses/yr $287K
3.4 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $208K · Total expenses $307K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $307K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $307K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense (2-yr avg) $0 · Solicited contributions (2-yr avg) $145K
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $301K · Total revenue $313K
96%
Government reliance
Government grants $151K · Total revenue $313K
48%
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $10K · Total revenue $313K
3%
Investment reliance
Investment income $2K · Total revenue $313K
+1%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $10K · Total expenses $307K
3%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $313K · Prior year $244K
+28%
Revenue CAGR
FY2021 $97K · FY2025 $313K
+34%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $81K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $313K · Expenses $307K
+2%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $81K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $81K · Total assets $81K
100%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) $0 · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) $0 · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $81K
0%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Ashleigh Shoecraft · Reported title Executive Director · Highest reported compensation $50K · Total expenses $307K
16%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $173K · Total expenses $307K
56%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Program ratio 68%
Revenue growth 28%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2024
Total grants receivedfrom 3 funders$43K
See all 3 funders →

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Braided Seeds →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$313K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$244K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$197K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$94K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$97K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.