Spark Project INC FY2022 filing

Tucson, AZ · Public charity (501(c)(3)) · Since 2019 · Arts & Culture

✓ Tax-deductible
Revenue
$967K
+11% vs prior year
Spent
$967K
To programs
22%
Net assets
$0
By yearFY2020–FY2025
Revenue
$967K
FY2022▲ +11%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2020$639K
FY2021$867K
FY2022$967K
FY2023$1.2M
FY2024$1.2M
FY2025$1.3M
Expenses
$967K
FY2022▲ +11%
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2020$639K
FY2021$867K
FY2022$967K
FY2023$1.3M
FY2024$1.2M
FY2025$1.3M
Net assets
$0
FY2022
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2020$0
FY2021$0
FY2022$0
FY2023−$67K
FY2024$0
FY2025$0

From the FY2022 Form 990 · figures checked against the IRS filing · see the original

You’re viewing the FY2022 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Yes — filed FY2025
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CSpark Project INC
EINHdr · item D84-3844624
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFJan 2020
Year of formationHdr · item L2019
Latest filingForm 990FY2025 · Form 990
Principal addressHdr · item CTucson, AZ
NTEE classificationIRS BMFArts & Culture (A20)

Where the money goes

What each dollar paid for.

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Program services $0.22 Management & general $0.25
Program services22%$214K
Management & general25%$238K
Total functional expensesLn 25$967K

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Surplus margin
0%
revenue over expenses, this year
Donor-funded
0%
of revenue is gifts & grants
Goes to people
52%
of spending is salaries & benefits

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2022 · Form 990
Total assets
$0
FY2022
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2020$0
FY2021$0
FY2022$0
FY2023$1.2M
FY2024$0
FY2025Not on file
Total liabilities
$0
FY2022
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2020$0
FY2021$0
FY2022$0
FY2023$1.3M
FY2024$0
FY2025Not on file
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$0
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$0
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B22%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 34
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 44

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1—
Total assetsLn 16$0
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$0

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Program service revenue100%$967K
Total revenueLn 12$967K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2022 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves — · Operating expenses/yr $967K
Highly liquid reserves (cash & marketable securities on Pt X) ÷ monthly operating expenses (Pt IX total, less non-cash grants & depreciation when reported).
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $214K · Total expenses $967K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $238K · Total expenses $967K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $967K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense (3-yr avg) $0 · Solicited contributions (3-yr avg) $0
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $0 · Total revenue $967K
0%
Government reliance
Government grants $0 · Total revenue $967K
0%
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $967K · Total revenue $967K
100%
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $967K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $967K · Total expenses $967K
100%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $967K · Prior year $867K
+11%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $0 · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $967K · Expenses $967K
0%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $0
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $0 · Total assets $0
—
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) $0 · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) $0 · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $0
Excludes program-related investments (Pt X, ln 13)
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual John Vasquez · Reported title CFO · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $967K
0%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $505K · Total expenses $967K
52%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Program ratio 22%——
Overhead ratio 25%——
Revenue growth 11%——
Legal fee ratio 0.6%——
Accounting fee ratio 0%——
Fundraising fee ratio 0%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Spark Project INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • 4Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • 4Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14No
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNo
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2No

Mission and programs

What it does.

Provides community programs like business training, art therapy, and drives for those in need.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Spark Project INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

3 program services account for $138K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2022.
01

Art therapy and art program we provide our art therapy services free of charge to the community. These activities are designed to help assist children and families impacted by the autism spectrum. The activities include painting sensory bottles slime making and many other activities based on exploring sensory deprivations

$69Kprogram expense
02

This program is designed to provide toys and daily goods for school to the local foster system children in our tucson community. We deliver the toys and goods to 7 local foster homes in our community and we do a holiday activity around christmas time to provide gifts to the children for the holiday.

$51Kprogram expense
03

This program helps provide meals and hygeine kits to the homeless population in our community. We work with multiple food banks and vendors in our area. We make 2 yearly trips to known homeless areas to personally hand out the goods.

$18Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Funders

Who pays for it.

From grant filings on record. Receipts are incomplete: individual donors are never listed.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2023
Total grants receivedfrom 1 funder$16

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2025 Latest $1.3M$1.3M+4% 990 PDF
FY2024 $1.2M$1.2M+0.8% 990 PDF
FY2023 $1.2M$1.3M+28% 990 PDF
FY2022 Viewing $967K$967K+11% 990 PDF
FY2021 $867K$867K+36% 990 PDF
FY2020 $639K$639K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Spark Project INC →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2022IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.