Two Rivers Uniserv Unit FY2023 filing

Not tax-deductible

Longmont, CO501(c)(5)EmploymentEIN 84-0755367

The mission for Two Rivers is to advocate for teachers.

Mission: Form 990 Part I, line 1

Before you give

FY2023 · Form 990Independent: from IRS data, not the org
Download 990
Is it a real charity?
501(c)(5)
not on the IRS revocation list
IRS BMF · Auto-Revocation List
Are gifts tax-deductible?
No
Donations are not tax-deductible
IRS Pub. 78 · IRS BMF
Is it filing on time?
FY2025
latest Form 990
IRS e-file · Filing history
Is it financially stable?
3 of 4
years in the black
Pt I · Ln 19 · 4 filings
How much reaches the programs?
0%
of spending
Pt IX · Ln 25 · col B
Do they have reserves?
14 mo
of spending, in cash
Pt X · Ln 1–2 · Pt I · Ln 18
Who is supporting them already?
1
named funder · $159K
Funders’ Sch. I, 990-PF
Do they carry debt?
$0
liabilities
Pt X · Ln 26
Who oversees it?
6
independent of 6 voting board members
Pt VI · Ln 1a–1b
Revenue
$330K
+61% vs prior year
Spent
$312K
To programs
0%
Net assets
$359K
By yearFY2021–FY2025
Revenue
$330K
FY2023▲ +61%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2021$205K
FY2023$330K
FY2024$358K
FY2025$392K
Expenses
$312K
FY2023▲ +71%
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2021$183K
FY2023$312K
FY2024$336K
FY2025$421K
Net assets
$359K
FY2023▲ ×16
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2021$22K
FY2023$359K
FY2024$381K
FY2025$351K

From the FY2023 Form 990 (year ending August 2023) · see the original

You’re viewing the FY2023 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
No
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Filed FY2025 (typical filing lag)
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CTwo Rivers Uniserv Unit
EINHdr · item D84-0755367
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(5) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFSep 2008
Latest filingForm 990FY2025 · Form 990
Principal addressHdr · item CLongmont, CO
NTEE classificationIRS BMFEmployment (J40)

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Surplus margin
+5%
revenue over expenses, this year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990
Total assets
$359K
FY2023▲ +19%
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2021$301K
FY2023$359K
FY2024$381K
FY2025$351K
Total liabilities
$0
FY2023▼ -100%
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2021$279K
FY2023$0
FY2024$0
FY2025$0
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$18K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$359K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B0%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 36
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 46

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$359K
Total assetsLn 16$359K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$359K
Months of cash on handcomputed13.8

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants100%$329K
Investment income$803
Total revenueLn 12$330K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $359K · Operating expenses/yr $312K
13.8 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $0 · Total expenses $312K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $312K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $312K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense (2-yr avg) $0 · Solicited contributions (2-yr avg) $164K
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $329K · Total revenue $330K
100%
Government reliance
Government grants $0 · Total revenue $330K
0%
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $0 · Total revenue $330K
0%
Investment reliance
Investment income $803 · Total revenue $330K
+0.2%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $0 · Total expenses $312K
0%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $330K · Prior year $205K
+61%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $359K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $330K · Expenses $312K
+5%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $359K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $359K · Total assets $359K
100%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) $0 · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) $0 · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $359K
0%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Steve Villarreal · Reported title Unit Co-Chair · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $312K
0%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $289K · Total expenses $312K
93%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Overhead ratio 0%——
Fundraising cost ratio 0%——
Revenue growth 61%——
Investment management fee ratio 0%——
Legal fee ratio 0%——
Accounting fee ratio 0.3%——
Fundraising fee ratio 0%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2022); the FY2023 filing did not itemize Part VII
Unit Co-Chair
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Unit Co-Chair
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Board Member
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Michelle Garrison’s $167K as Uniserv Director is at the 97th percentile of top reported officer pay among 1216 $100K–1M employment nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

See Two Rivers Uniserv Unit executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • 6Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • 6Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Yes
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNo
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2No

Mission and programs

What it does.

Advocates for teachers to improve education and support educators.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Two Rivers Uniserv Unit claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2022.
01

This is not applicable to our organization.

Pt IX · col B

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Funders

Who pays for it.

From grant filings on record. Receipts are incomplete: individual donors are never listed.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2024
Total grants receivedfrom 1 funder$159K

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2025 Latest $392K$421K+10% 990 PDF
FY2024 $358K$336K+9% 990 PDF
FY2023 Viewing $330K$312K+61% 990 PDF
FY2022 Not on file
FY2021 $205K$183K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Two Rivers Uniserv Unit →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.