Equalai Initiative Corp

Not tax-deductible

Washington, DC501(c)(6)Community DevelopmentEIN 83-2935051

The organization's mission is to expand the availability of safe and responsible artificial intelligence systems and reduce bias in such systems through standard setting, policy solutions and other measures.

$534K paid to officers and key staff.
Mission: Form 990 Part I, line 1 · Pay: Part VII

Before you give

FY2024 · Form 990Independent: from IRS data, not the org
Download 990
IRS status
501(c)(6)
not on the IRS revocation list
Looks good: listed by the IRS and not on the revocation list.
IRS BMF · Auto-Revocation List
Tax-deductible gifts
No
Donations are not tax-deductible
Worth a look: the IRS does not list gifts to it as deductible.
IRS Pub. 78 · IRS BMF
Latest return
FY2024
latest Form 990
Looks good: the latest return is for FY2024, 2 tax years back; within 2 tax years.
IRS e-file · Filing history
Surplus or deficit
2 of 4
filings with a surplus
Average surplus $93K a year · 19% of revenue · last 4 filings
Worth a look: a surplus in 2 of the last 4 filings.
Pt I · Ln 19 · 4 filings
Spent on programs
0%
of spending
Concern: 0% of spending went to programs; under 50%.
Pt IX · Ln 25 · col B
Pay to officers and key staff
$534K
to officers and key staff · 65% of spending
Top officer’s pay higher than 98% of similar orgs
Concern: pay to officers and key staff is 65% of spending; over 30%.
Pt VII · Sec A
Cash reserves
5 mo
of spending, in cash
Looks good: 4.7 months of spending in cash; 3 or more.
Pt X · Ln 1–2 · Pt I · Ln 18
Named funders
1
named funder · $22K
Fine: 1 funder names it on their filings; under 3.
Funders’ Sch. I, 990-PF
Liabilities
$0
0% of total assets
Looks good: liabilities are 0% of assets; 50% or less.
Pt X · Ln 26
Independent board members
6
of 7 voting members
Looks good: 6 of 7 voting members are independent, a majority.
Pt VI · Ln 1a–1b
Looks goodFineWorth a lookConcernNo data yetTap a box for the reason.
Revenue
$543K
+2% vs prior year
Spent
$823K
To programs
0%
Net assets
$381K
By yearFY2021–FY2024
Revenue
$543K
FY2024▲ +2%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2021$299K
FY2022$563K
FY2023$530K
FY2024$543K
Expenses
$823K
FY2024▲ +49%
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2021$45K
FY2022$140K
FY2023$553K
FY2024$823K
Net assets
$381K
FY2024▼ -42%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2021$261K
FY2022$684K
FY2023$662K
FY2024$381K

From the FY2024 Form 990 · see the original

Give Claim

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
No
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Filed FY2024 (typical filing lag)
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CEqualai Initiative Corp
EINHdr · item D83-2935051
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(6) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFJul 2022
Latest filingForm 990FY2024 · Form 990
Principal addressHdr · item CWashington, DC
NTEE classificationIRS BMFCommunity Development (S41)
WebsiteHdr · item Jequalai.org

Finances

Money in and out, what it owns and owes

Operating surplus
-52%
revenue over expenses▼ -1104% vs prior filing year
Earned revenue
95%
of revenue from program services & dues▼ -5% vs prior filing year
Payroll share
76%
of spending is salaries & benefits▲ +14% vs prior filing year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990
Total assets
$381K
FY2024▼ -44%
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2021$261K
FY2022$684K
FY2023$677K
FY2024$381K
Total liabilities
$0
FY2024▼ -100%
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2021$0
FY2022$0
FY2023$15K
FY2024$0
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19−$281K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$381K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B0%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 37
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 46

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$325K
Total assetsLn 16$381K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$381K
Months of cash on handcomputed4.7

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Program service revenue$515K · 95%
Contributions & grants$28K · 5%
Program service revenue95%$515K
Contributions & grants5%$28K
Investment income$201
Total revenueLn 12$543K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Months of spending covered by cash
Highly liquid reserves $325K · Operating expenses/yr $823K
4.7 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $0 · Total expenses $823K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $823K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $823K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense (3-yr avg) $0 · Solicited contributions (3-yr avg) $9K
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $28K · Total revenue $543K
5%
Government reliance
Government grants — · Total revenue $543K
—
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $515K · Total revenue $543K
95%
Investment reliance
Investment income $201 · Total revenue $543K
+0.04%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $515K · Total expenses $823K
63%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $543K · Prior year $530K
+2%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $381K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $543K · Expenses $823K
-52%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $381K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $381K · Total assets $381K
100%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) — · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) — · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $381K
Excludes program-related investments (Pt X, ln 13)
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Miriam Vogel · Reported title DIRECTOR, PRESIDENT, CEO · Highest reported compensation $237K · Total expenses $823K
29%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $623K · Total expenses $823K
76%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Overhead ratio 0%——
Fundraising cost ratio 0%——
Revenue growth 2%——
Legal fee ratio 0.03%——
Accounting fee ratio 1%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Director, President, CEO
$237,215Pt VII · Sec A
Director of Strategic Initiatives
$106,053Pt VII · Sec A
Director of Operations
$98,355Pt VII · Sec A
Legal Fellow
$92,725Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director - Until 10/24/24
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Miriam Vogel’s $237K as Director, President, CEO is at the 98th percentile of top reported officer pay among 1709 $100K–1M community development nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 4 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2023
Miriam Vogel$237,215$75,281
Tina Huang$106,053$103,260
Jim Wiley$92,725$105,318
Natalie Heinitz$98,355—

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Equalai Initiative Corp executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • 7Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • 6Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14No
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aYes
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2No

Mission and programs

What it does.

Promotes safe, responsible AI and reduces bias through standards and policy.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Equalai Initiative Corp claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2024.
01

The organization promoted the common interest of companies that create or use artificial intelligence systems by expanding the awareness and alignment on ai governance through standard setting, policy solutions, and other measures.

Pt IX · col B

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Funders

Who pays for it.

From grant filings on record. Receipts are incomplete: individual donors are never listed.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2024
Total grants receivedfrom 1 funder$22K

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2024 Latest Viewing $543K$823K+2% 990 PDF
FY2023 $530K$553K-6% 990 PDF
FY2022 $563K$140K+89% 990 PDF
FY2021 $299K$45K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Full filing: Form 990 for FY2024

Every line we hold from the return, cited to its Part and line.
Part VIII · Statement of revenue $542,701 across 5 lines filed
VIII-1f All other contributions, gifts and grants$27,500
VIII-1h Total contributions, gifts and grants$27,500
VIII-2a-f Program service revenue, itemized rows (sum of 2a–2f as filed)Unrelated business $0 · Excluded from tax $0$515,000
VIII-3 Investment incomeUnrelated business $0 · Excluded from tax $201$201
VIII-12 Total revenueRelated to mission $515,000 · Unrelated business $0 · Excluded from tax $201$542,701
Part IX · Statement of functional expenses $823,431 across 14 lines filed
IX-5 Pay of current officers, directors and key staffPrograms $0 · Management $0 · Fundraising $0$243,655
IX-7 Other salaries and wagesPrograms $0 · Management $0 · Fundraising $0$322,782
IX-8 Pension plan contributionsPrograms $0 · Management $0 · Fundraising $0$11,431
IX-9 Other employee benefitsPrograms $0 · Management $0 · Fundraising $0$4,370
IX-10 Payroll taxesPrograms $0 · Management $0 · Fundraising $0$40,792
IX-11b Legal feesPrograms $0 · Management $0 · Fundraising $0$225
IX-11c Accounting feesPrograms $0 · Management $0 · Fundraising $0$11,594
IX-11g Other fees for servicesPrograms $0 · Management $0 · Fundraising $0$136,542
IX-12 Advertising and promotionPrograms $0 · Management $0 · Fundraising $0$4,404
IX-13 Office expensesPrograms $0 · Management $0 · Fundraising $0$95
IX-17 TravelPrograms $0 · Management $0 · Fundraising $0$8,445
IX-19 Conferences, conventions and meetingsPrograms $0 · Management $0 · Fundraising $0$35,534
IX-23 InsurancePrograms $0 · Management $0 · Fundraising $0$3,421
IX-24 Other expenses (24a–d)Programs $0 · Management $0 · Fundraising $0$141
IX-25 Total functional expensesPrograms $0 · Management $0 · Fundraising $0$823,431
Part X · Balance sheet $380,829 assets, 7 lines filed
X-1 Cash, non-interest-bearingStart of year $459,021$124,213
X-2 Savings and temporary cash investmentsStart of year $200,564$200,765
X-15 Other assetsStart of year $17,130$55,851
X-16 Total assetsStart of year $676,715$380,829
X-26 Total liabilitiesStart of year $15,156$0
X-32 Total net assets or fund balancesStart of year $661,559$380,829
X-33 Total liabilities and net assetsStart of year $676,715$380,829
Part XI · Reconciliation of net assets $380,829 net assets at year end
XI-1 Total revenue$542,701
XI-2 Total expenses$823,431
XI-3 Revenue less expenses−$280,730
XI-4 Net assets at start of year$661,559
XI-10 Net assets at end of year$380,829

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Equalai Initiative Corp →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.