Emerging Light Foundation INC EIN 83-2803187 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Emerging Light Foundation INC

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Rockville, MD. It reported about $407K in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $407K in revenue, $924K in expenses, and $328K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Religion
Location
Rockville, MD
Website
emerging-light.org
Filings
6 on file (2019–2024)
Revenue
$407KFY2024
Expenses
$924K
Net assets
$328K
People
3
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  83-2803187 Private foundation / grantmaker Rockville, MD
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Emerging Light Foundation INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Rockville, MD. It reported about $407K in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Kamal Ghaffarian · CEO and President
Money in and out
$407K revenue, $924K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2024
Total revenue
$407K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$924K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$328K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$517K
Total assets
328K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
902K
in FY2024
Grants made
2grants
total in period
Payout rate
275%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 2 grants · $902K · 2024–2024
Limitless Space Institute INCTX · FY2024$500,000
Mount Olive Baptist ChurchFY2024$401,700

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV1
Average grantPart XV$451K
Median grantPart XV$500K
Largest grantPart XV$500K
Top cause focusNTEEEducation (50%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$407K
FY2024▲ ×33
Expenses
$924K
FY2024▼ -64%
Total assets
$328K
FY2024▼ -61%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2024▼ -100%
Total revenue
$407K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$924K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$328K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$328K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CEmerging Light Foundation INC
EINHdr · item D83-2803187
Principal addressHdr · item CRockville, MD
WebsiteHdr · item Jemerging-light.org
State of legal domicileHdr · item MMD
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFReligion (X12)
Ruling yearIRS BMFAug 2021

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
CEO and President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary/Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Emerging Light Foundation INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$215K · 53%
Contributions & grants$200K · 49%
Investment income53%$215K
Contributions & grants49%$200K
Total revenueLn 12$407K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.98 Operating & administrative $0.02
Grants & contributions paid98%$902K
Operating & administrative2%$22K
Total functional expensesLn 25$924K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$328K
Total assetsLn 16$328K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$328K
Months of cash on handcomputed4.3

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $328K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $407K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $407K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $407K · Prior year $12K
Prior-year revenue below floor — showing dollar change
Revenue CAGR
FY2019 $201K · FY2024 $407K
+15%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $328K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $407K · Expenses $924K
-127%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $328K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $328K · Total assets $328K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Kamal Ghaffarian · Reported title CEO AND PRESIDENT · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $924K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth ×33

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$407K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$12K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$302K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$72K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$39K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2019$201K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.