Seeking Educational Excellence FY2021 filing

Higley, AZ · Public charity (501(c)(3)) · Education

✓ Tax-deductible
Revenue
$150K
×4176 vs prior year
Net assets
−$63K
By yearFY2019–FY2025
Revenue
$150K
FY2021▲ ×4176
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2019$247K
FY2020$36
FY2021$150K
FY2022$10K
FY2023$171K
FY2024$41K
FY2025$42K
Expenses
—
FY2021
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2019$247K
FY2020Not on file
FY2021Not on file
FY2022Not on file
FY2023Not on file
FY2024Not on file
FY2025$45K
Net assets
−$63K
FY2021▼ -161%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2019$0
FY2020−$24K
FY2021−$63K
FY2022$10K
FY2023$73K
FY2024$14K
FY2025$12K

From the FY2021 Form 990 · see the original

You’re viewing the FY2021 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Yes — filed FY2025
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CSeeking Educational Excellence
EINHdr · item D83-2290285
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFNov 2022
Latest filingForm 990FY2025 · Form 990-EZ
Principal addressHdr · item CHigley, AZ
NTEE classificationIRS BMFEducation (B01)

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Operating runway
2.1mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate
Surplus margin
+11%
revenue over expenses, this year
Donor-funded
100%
of revenue is gifts & grants

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990-EZ
Total assets
—
FY2021
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2019$0
FY2020Not on file
FY2021Not on file
FY2022Not on file
FY2023Not on file
FY2024Not on file
FY2025$12K
Total liabilities
$86K
FY2021
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2019$0
FY2020Not on file
FY2021Not on file
FY2022Not on file
FY2023Not on file
FY2024Not on file
FY2025$0
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19—
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16—
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B—
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3pending
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1—
Total assetsLn 16—
Total liabilitiesLn 26$86K
Total net assetsLn 32−$63K

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue100%$150K
Total revenueLn 12$150K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $23K · Operating expenses/yr $134K
2.1 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $150K · Total revenue $150K
100%
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue — · Total revenue $150K
—
Investment reliance
Investment income — · Total revenue $150K
—
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue — · Total expenses $134K
Rests on the self-reported EZ program figure
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $150K · Prior year $36
Prior-year revenue below floor — showing dollar change
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year −$63K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $150K · Expenses $134K
+11%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities $86K · Total assets $23K
372%
Net-asset ratio
Net assets −$63K · Total assets $23K
-272%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Kevin Jackson · Reported title Vice President · Highest reported compensation $48K · Total expenses $134K
36%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits $123K · Total expenses $134K
92%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth ×4176——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Vice President
$48,000Pt VII · Sec A
$12,000Pt VII · Sec A

Kevin Jackson’s $8K as President is at the 29th percentile of top reported officer pay among 146 <$100K education nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 2 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2021
Kevin Jackson$8,000$48,000
Melissa Jackson—$12,000

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Seeking Educational Excellence executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • –Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • –Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNot reported
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Not reported
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Not reported
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNot reported
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2Not reported

Mission and programs

What it does.

Seeking Educational Excellence is an education nonprofit based in Higley, AZ.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Seeking Educational Excellence claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service account for $241K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2019.
01

To establish programs for education

$241Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Funders

Who pays for it.

From grant filings on record. Receipts are incomplete: individual donors are never listed.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2024
Total grants receivedfrom 2 funders$20K

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2025 Latest $42K$45K+3% 990 PDF
FY2024 $41K—-76% 990 PDF
FY2023 $171K—×17 990 PDF
FY2022 $10K—-93% 990 PDF
FY2021 Viewing $150K—×4176 990 PDF
FY2020 $36—-100% 990 PDF
FY2019 $247K$247K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Seeking Educational Excellence →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.