Educational Communities Worldwide EIN 83-0604318 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Educational Communities Worldwide

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

Offers scholarships, internships, supplies, and skills training to underprivileged students globally. For fiscal year 2021 it reported $30K in revenue, $8K in expenses, and $25K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Public charity (501(c)(3)) · Education
Location
Indianapolis, IN
Filings
1 on file (2021–2021)
Revenue
$30KFY2021
Expenses
$8K
Net assets
$25K
People
16
Filings
1
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  83-0604318 Public charity (501(c)(3)) Indianapolis, IN
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Educational Communities Worldwide claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
Offers scholarships, internships, supplies, and skills training to underprivileged students globally.
Leadership
Christine Rose · President
Money in and out
$30K revenue, $8K expenses
Bottom line
30.5mo operating runway
Where the money goes · FY2021
Total revenue
$30K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$8K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$25K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $22K
Operating runway
30.5mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate
Surplus margin
+73%
revenue over expenses, this year
Donor-funded
100%
of revenue is gifts & grants

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2021 · Form 990
Total revenue
$30K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$8K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$25K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$22K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$24K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B0%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 314
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 414

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CEducational Communities Worldwide
EINHdr · item D83-0604318
Principal addressHdr · item CIndianapolis, IN
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MIN
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFEducation (B12)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJun 2018

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a14
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b14
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aYes
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Yes
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Yes
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNo
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2No

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2020); the FY2021 filing did not itemize Part VII
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice President Chair of Fund Development Committee
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Chair Program Committee
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Chair Finance Committee
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Member of the Program Committee
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Member of the Program Finance Committee
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Member of the Program Finance Committee
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Chair Development Committee
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Educational Communities Worldwide executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

3 program services account for $2K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2020.
01

Laptop for Scholarship Recipients

Students Laptop

$2Kprogram expense
02

Donation to an School

$194program expense
03

Donation to an Orphanage

$178program expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants100%$30K
Total revenueLn 12$30K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$20K
Total assetsLn 16$24K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$-1K
Total net assetsLn 32$25K
Months of cash on handcomputed30.5

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2021 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $20K · Operating expenses/yr $8K
30.5 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $0 · Total expenses $8K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $0 · Total expenses $8K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $0 · Total expenses $8K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense $0 · Solicited contributions $30K
Solicited contributions below reporting floor
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $30K · Total revenue $30K
100%
Government reliance
Government grants $0 · Total revenue $30K
0%
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $0 · Total revenue $30K
0%
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $30K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $0 · Total expenses $8K
0%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $30K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $25K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $30K · Expenses $8K
+73%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $24K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $25K · Total assets $24K
105%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) $0 · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) $0 · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $24K
0%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Christine Rose · Reported title President · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $8K
0%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $0 · Total expenses $8K
0%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Overhead ratio 0%
Fundraising cost ratio 0%
Investment management fee ratio 0%
Legal fee ratio 0%
Accounting fee ratio 0%
Fundraising fee ratio 0%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2023
Total grants receivedfrom 1 funder$16

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2021 (Latest)$30K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2021IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.