Mayberg Foundation INC

Tax-deductible

Chevy Chase, MD501(c)(3)Foundations & GrantmakersEIN 81-4574465

501(c)(3) charity; gifts are tax-deductible.
$350K paid to officers and key staff.
Status: IRS Pub. 78 · Pay: Part VII

Before you give

FY2024 · Form 990-PFIndependent: from IRS data, not the org
Download 990
IRS status
501(c)(3)
not on the IRS revocation list
Looks good: listed by the IRS and not on the revocation list.
IRS BMF · Auto-Revocation List
Tax-deductible gifts
Yes
Donations are tax-deductible
Looks good: the IRS lists gifts to it as deductible.
IRS Pub. 78 · IRS BMF
Latest return
FY2024
latest Form 990-PF
Looks good: the latest return is for FY2024, 2 tax years back; within 2 tax years.
IRS e-file · Filing history
Surplus or deficit
4 of 5
filings with a surplus
Average surplus $3.0M a year · 24% of revenue · last 5 filings
Fine: a surplus in 4 of the last 5 filings.
990-PF Pt I · 5 filings
Pay to officers and key staff
$350K
to officers and key staff · 3% of spending
Looks good: pay to officers and key staff is 3% of spending; 15% or less.
990-PF Pt VIII
Cash reserves
16 mo
of spending, in cash
Looks good: 15.8 months of spending in cash; 3 or more.
Pt X · Ln 1–2 · Pt I · Ln 18
Liabilities
$629K
2% of total assets
Looks good: liabilities are 2% of assets; 50% or less.
990-PF Pt II
Looks goodFineWorth a lookConcernNo data yetTap a box for the reason.
Revenue
$15.4M
+41% vs prior year
Spent
$11.7M
Net assets
$25.7M
By yearFY2020–FY2024
Revenue
$15.4M
FY2024▲ +41%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2020$10.1M
FY2021$15.9M
FY2022$10.0M
FY2023$11.0M
FY2024$15.4M
Expenses
$11.7M
FY2024▲ +4%
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2020$7.0M
FY2021$8.0M
FY2022$9.5M
FY2023$11.3M
FY2024$11.7M
Net assets
$25.7M
FY2024▲ +17%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2020$13.9M
FY2021$21.8M
FY2022$22.2M
FY2023$21.9M
FY2024$25.7M

From the FY2024 Form 990 · figures checked against the IRS filing · see the original

Give Claim

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Filed FY2024 (typical filing lag)
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CMayberg Foundation INC
EINHdr · item D81-4574465
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFJan 2018
Latest filingForm 990FY2024 · Form 990-PF
Principal addressHdr · item CChevy Chase, MD
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.mayberg.org

Where the money goes

What each dollar paid for.

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.73 Operating & administrative $0.27
Grants & contributions paid73%$8.6M
Operating & administrative27%$3.1M
Total functional expensesLn 25$11.7M

Finances

Money in and out, what it owns and owes

Total assets
26.3M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
8.6M
in FY2024
Grants made
124grants
total in period
Payout rate
33%
of assets (5% rule)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$26.3M
FY2024▲ +17%
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2020$14.5M
FY2021$22.2M
FY2022$23.1M
FY2023$22.5M
FY2024$26.3M
Total liabilities
$629K
FY2024▲ +4%
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2020$527K
FY2021$371K
FY2022$834K
FY2023$606K
FY2024$629K
Total assetsPt II$26.3M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$15.4M
Total assetsLn 16$26.3M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$629K
Total net assetsLn 32$25.7M
Months of cash on handcomputed15.8

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$15.3M · 99%
Investment income$143K · 1%
Contributions & grants99%$15.3M
Investment income1%$143K
Total revenueLn 12$15.4M

Money in detail

Form 990 · FY2024 · each figure shown with the dollars behind it
Cash and giving out
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $26.3M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $15.4M
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $15.4M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue change from last year
This year $15.4M · Prior year $11.0M
+41%
Revenue, average yearly change over 5 years
FY2020 $10.1M · FY2024 $15.4M
+11%
Net assets change over the year
End of year $25.7M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus or deficit, as % of revenue
Revenue $15.4M · Expenses $11.7M
+24%
Debts compared to what it owns
Total liabilities — · Total assets $26.3M
—
Net assets compared to what it owns
Net assets $25.7M · Total assets $26.3M
98%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Todd Sukol · Reported title EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR · Highest reported compensation $350K · Total expenses $11.7M
3%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 41%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A share is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Executive Director
$350,000Pt VII · Sec A
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Vice-President
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 1 named individual · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2021
Todd Sukol$350,000$275,000

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Mayberg Foundation INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • –Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • –Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNot reported
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Not reported
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Not reported
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNot reported
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2Not reported

Mission and programs

What it does.

A private foundation based in Chevy Chase, MD.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Mayberg Foundation INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Grants and how to apply

Who it funds, and how to ask.

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 124 grants · $8.5M · 2024–2024
Aish Global INCNJ · FY2024$1,500,000
MomentumFY2024$1,317,500
Jewish Community FoundationFY2024$1,142,649
My Keren Hashluchim INCFY2024$950,000
HadarFY2024$276,667
Makom (jfgh)FY2024$250,000
Makor Chaim USA INCNY · FY2024$176,667
Lehrhaus CenterFY2024$150,000
Orthodox UnionFY2024$145,720
Pardes Institute of Jewish StudiesFY2024$125,000
JewishrocFY2024$120,000
Jewishroc ChesedFY2024$108,000
Isralight South Florida INCFL · FY2024$100,000
Jewish Comm Relations CouncilFY2024$85,000
Jts Standards and BenchmarksFY2024$84,000
Opendor MediaFY2024$82,500
Thank Israeli SoldiersFY2024$75,000
See all 124 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV60
Average grantPart XV$69K
Median grantPart XV$10K
Largest grantPart XV$1.5M
Top cause focusNTEEReligion (13%)

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2024 Latest Viewing $15.4M$11.7M+41% 990 PDF
FY2023 $11.0M$11.3M+10% 990 PDF
FY2022 $10.0M$9.5M-37% 990 PDF
FY2021 $15.9M$8.0M+57% 990 PDF
FY2020 $10.1M$7.0M 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Mayberg Foundation INC →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.