Honore Farm and Mill EIN 81-4325307 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Honore Farm and Mill

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

Teach regenerative farming and grow heritage grains for California students. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $319K in revenue, $217K in expenses, and $306K in net assets.Pt I

Founded
2016
Type
Public charity (501(c)(3)) · Food & Agriculture
Location
Larkspur, CA
Filings
6 on file (2020–2025)
Revenue
$319KFY2025
Expenses
$217K
Net assets
$306K
People
4
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  81-4325307 Public charity (501(c)(3)) Larkspur, CA Founded 2016
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Honore Farm and Mill claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
Teach regenerative farming and grow heritage grains for California students.
Leadership
Elizabeth Deruff · Executive Director · $50K
Money in and out
$319K revenue, $217K expenses
Bottom line
11.4mo operating runway
Where the money goes · FY2025
Total revenue
$319K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$217K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$306K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $102K
Where spending went · Part IX cols B–D
Program services $0.06 Management & general $0.02 Fundraising $0.01
Operating runway
11.4mo
months of highly liquid reserves at operating expense rate▲ +90% vs prior filing year
Surplus margin
+32%
revenue over expenses, this year▲ +157% vs prior filing year
Revenue trend
+36%
avg. annual growth over 5 years▲ +10% vs prior filing year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990
Revenue
$319K
FY2025▲ +49%
Expenses
$217K
FY2025▲ +16%
Total assets
$347K
FY2025▲ +57%
Total liabilities
$41K
FY2025▲ +52%
Total revenue
$319K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$217K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$306K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19$102K
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16$347K
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B6%
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 34
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 43
Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

3 program services account for $13K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2025.
01

Education

Honore Farm and Mills mission is to create a connection between our locally grown and stone milled whole grain and our food system through education and awareness. Honore Farm and Mill provides hands-on planting and harvesting education on our partner farm plots.

$8Kprogram expense
02

Farming

Honore Farm and Mill partners with local family farmers in Northern California to grow climate-smart landrace heirloom varieties of wheat on certified-organic plots using sustainable farming practices. The grain produced from these plots is cleaned and stone-milled into flour in the Northern Bay Area.

$5Kprogram expense
03

Sale of Products

Honore Farm and Mill is a non-profit because our mission is to educate and serve everyone in our community. We support our charitable work through the sales of flour and heirloom wheat products such as shortbread cookies.

Pt IX · col B

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CHonore Farm and Mill
EINHdr · item D81-4325307
Principal addressHdr · item CLarkspur, CA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
Year of formationHdr · item L2016
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFood & Agriculture (K20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFApr 2018

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1a4
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1b3
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aYes
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13No
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Yes
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aYes
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2No

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Executive Director
$50,004Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Suh
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Elizabeth Deruff’s $50K as Executive Director is at the 53rd percentile of top reported officer pay among 1173 $100K–1M food & agriculture nonprofits. Peer set: organizations in the same NTEE major field of work and revenue-size band, compared on each org’s own highest-paid officer/key-employee, from Form 990 Part VII / 990-PF Part VIII. Descriptive placement, not a verdict on whether the pay is appropriate.

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 3 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024FY2023FY2022FY2021FY2020
Elizabeth Deruff$50,004$57,317$49,087
Elizabeth a Deruff$12,500$37,500$26,000
Alexandra Webster$9,479

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Honore Farm and Mill executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants$261K · 82%
Other revenue$56K · 18%
Contributions & grants82%$261K
Other revenue18%$56K
Investment income$1K
— government grantsLn 1e$39K
Total revenueLn 12$319K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Program services $0.06 Management & general $0.02 Fundraising $0.01
Program services6%$13K
Management & general2%$5K
Fundraising1%$2K
Total functional expensesLn 25$217K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$195K
Total assetsLn 16$347K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$41K
Total net assetsLn 32$306K
Months of cash on handcomputed10.8

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $195K · Operating expenses (Pt IX) $217K · Less non-cash grants $11K · Cash operating expenses/yr $205K
11.4 months
Where the money goes
Program services
Program services $13K · Total expenses $217K
not reported
Management & General
Management & general $5K · Total expenses $217K
not reported
Fundraising
Fundraising $2K · Total expenses $217K
not reported
Cost to raise $1
Fundraising expense (3-yr avg) $733 · Solicited contributions (3-yr avg) $147K
$0.00 to raise $1 (3-yr avg)
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $261K · Total revenue $319K
82%
Government reliance
Government grants $39K · Total revenue $319K
12%
Earned-income share
Program service revenue $0 · Total revenue $319K
0%
Investment reliance
Investment income $1K · Total revenue $319K
+0.4%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue $0 · Total expenses $217K
0%
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $319K · Prior year $213K
+49%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $68K · FY2025 $319K
+36%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $306K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $319K · Expenses $217K
+32%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $347K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $306K · Total assets $347K
88%
Marketable Investment Share
Publicly traded securities (Pt X, ln 11) $0 · Other securities (Pt X, ln 12) $0 · Total assets (Pt X, ln 16) $347K
0%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Elizabeth Deruff · Reported title Executive Director · Highest reported compensation $50K · Total expenses $217K
23%
Personnel share
Salaries, benefits & payroll (Pt IX 5-10) $144K · Total expenses $217K
67%
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Program ratio 6%
Overhead ratio 2%
Fundraising cost ratio 0.8%
Revenue growth 49%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · funders on record
Grants received · FY2024
Total grants receivedfrom 4 funders$162K
See all 4 funders →

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Honore Farm and Mill →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$319K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$213K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$204K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$118K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$68K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$68K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.