Bring Me a Book Foundation EIN 77-0481924 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Bring Me a Book Foundation

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

Provides books to young children to improve their reading skills at home and school. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $15K in revenue, in expenses.Pt I

Type
Unknown exempt organization · Nonprofit
Location
Redwood City, CA
Filings
5 on file (2020–2024)
Revenue
$15KFY2024
Expenses
Net assets
$0
People
10
Filings
5
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  77-0481924 Unknown exempt organization Redwood City, CA
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Bring Me a Book Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
Provides books to young children to improve their reading skills at home and school.
Leadership
Kristine Erving · Chairperson
Money in and out
$15K revenue
Bottom line
-2197% surplus margin
Reported financial activity · FY2024
Total revenue
$15K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$0
Pt X · Ln 32
Surplus margin
-2197%
revenue over expenses, this year▼ -16265% vs prior filing year

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-EZ
Revenue
$15K
FY2024▼ -96%
Expenses
FY2024
Total assets
FY2024
Total liabilities
FY2024
Total revenue
$15K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$0
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expensesPt I · Ln 19
Total assetsPt X · Ln 16
Program-expense ratioPt IX · col B
Voting members of governing bodyPt I · Ln 3pending
Independent voting membersPt I · Ln 4pending

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CBring Me a Book Foundation
EINHdr · item D77-0481924
Principal addressHdr · item CRedwood City, CA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
Year of formationHdr · item Lpending
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFpending

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Chairperson
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 2 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2021FY2020
Lois Bridges$156,625
Judith Crates$27,825

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Bring Me a Book Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Mission & Programs · Part III

Where the work happens

1 program service account for $444K of program spending, described in the organization's own filed words · FY2023.
01

Bring Me A Book brings the joy and power of books to children in under-resourced communitiesespecially the books they choose themselves. We believe that literacy as a civil right begins with defining oneself as a reader and choosing the books that help one strengthen identitysociocultural background, languages, values, perspectives, and…

$444Kprogram expense

Run this program? Claim this org to tell your story

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Other revenue100%$15K
Total revenueLn 12$15K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16
Total liabilitiesLn 26
Total net assetsLn 32$0

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Operating runway
Highly liquid reserves $0 · Operating expenses/yr $345K
0.0 months
Where the money goes
Program services
not reported
Management & General
not reported
Fundraising
not reported
Cost to raise $1
not reported
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants $15K · Total revenue $15K
100%
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
Program service revenue — · Total revenue $15K
Investment reliance
Investment income $1 · Total revenue $15K
<0.01%
Program self-sufficiency
Program service revenue — · Total expenses $345K
Rests on the self-reported EZ program figure
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $15K · Prior year $424K
-96%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $309K · FY2024 $15K
-53%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $0 · Beginning of year $330K
-100%
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $15K · Expenses $345K
-2197%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $0
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $0 · Total assets $0
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Kristine Erving · Reported title Chairperson · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $345K
0%
Personnel share
Salaries & benefits — · Total expenses $345K
Form 990-EZ bundles compensation — not comparable to full-990 filers
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -96%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Grants

Schedule I · received and paid
Grants received · FY2023
Total grants receivedfrom 5 funders$32K
See all 5 funders →
Grants paid · 3 grants · $315K · 2022–2023
Leland Stanford JR UniversitFY2023$300,000
Mineral Point Unified SchoolFY2022$7,500
Loganberry BooksFY2022$7,500

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$15K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$424K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$386K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$352K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$309K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.