Kln Foundation FY2023 filing

Southlake, TX · Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers

✓ Tax-deductible
Revenue
$103K
-19% vs prior year
Spent
$95K
Net assets
$872K
By yearFY2020–FY2024
Revenue
$103K
FY2023▼ -19%
Revenue by fiscal year
FY2020$114K
FY2021$112K
FY2022$127K
FY2023$103K
FY2024$136K
Expenses
$95K
FY2023-0.3%
Expenses by fiscal year
FY2020$73K
FY2021$83K
FY2022$96K
FY2023$95K
FY2024$106K
Net assets
$872K
FY2023▼ -5%
Net assets by fiscal year
FY2020$789K
FY2021$822K
FY2022$915K
FY2023$872K
FY2024$814K

From the FY2023 Form 990 · see the original

You’re viewing the FY2023 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2024) →

Status and standing

Is it real, and can you give to it?

Tax-deductible?
Yes
Per the IRS master file.
Can I give now?
No revocation on IRS record
Not on the IRS revocation list.
Filing up to date?
Filed FY2024 (typical filing lag)
Legal name (IRS)Hdr · item CKln Foundation
EINHdr · item D75-2710712
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
Ruling yearIRS BMFAug 1997
Latest filingForm 990FY2024 · Form 990-PF
Principal addressHdr · item CSouthlake, TX
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22Z)

Where the money goes

What each dollar paid for.

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.62 Operating & administrative $0.38
Grants & contributions paid62%$59K
Operating & administrative38%$36K
Total functional expensesLn 25$95K

Financial health

Is it on solid ground?

Total assets
872K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
59K
in FY2023
Grants made
15grants
total in period
Payout rate
7%
of assets (5% rule)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2023 · Form 990-PF
Total assets
$872K
FY2023▼ -5%
Total assets by fiscal year
FY2020$789K
FY2021$822K
FY2022$915K
FY2023$872K
FY2024$814K
Total liabilities
$0
FY2023
Total liabilities by fiscal year
FY2020$0
FY2021$0
FY2022$0
FY2023$0
FY2024$0
Total assetsPt II$872K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$4K
Total assetsLn 16$872K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$872K
Months of cash on handcomputed0.6

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$90K · 88%
Other revenue$12K · 12%
Investment income88%$90K
Other revenue12%$12K
Total revenueLn 12$103K

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2023 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $872K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $103K
—
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $103K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $103K · Prior year $127K
-19%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $872K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $103K · Expenses $95K
+7%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $872K
—
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $872K · Total assets $872K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $95K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -19%——

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Leadership and pay

Who runs it, and what are they paid?

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2021); the FY2023 filing did not itemize Part VII
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Kln Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Governance & Policies

Part VI
  • –Voting board membersPt VI · Ln 1a
  • –Independent board membersPt VI · Ln 1b
  • Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12aNot reported
  • Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13Not reported
  • Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14Not reported
  • Top official’s pay independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15aNot reported
  • Family or business ties among leadersPt VI · Ln 2Not reported

Mission and programs

What it does.

A private foundation based in Southlake, TX.

Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Kln Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Grants and how to apply

Who it funds, and how to ask.

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 15 grants · $68K · 2024–2024
Safehaven of Tarrant CountyTX · FY2024$15,000
United Way of Tarrant CountyTX · FY2024$15,000
Youth World Dallas (church of Faith)FY2024$5,000
Grace Bible ChurchFY2024$5,000
Girls INC of Tarrant CountyFY2024$4,000
The Family PlaceFY2024$4,000
HopelinkWA · FY2024$4,000
Meals on Wheels of Tarrant CountyFY2024$3,000
Presbyterian Night Shelter of Tarrant CountyFY2024$3,000
Loving Lunches INCIL · FY2024$2,000
North Texas Food BankTX · FY2024$2,000
Mission Metroplex INCTX · FY2024$1,000
Salvation ArmyFY2024$1,000

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV8
Average grantPart XV$5K
Median grantPart XV$3K
Largest grantPart XV$15K
Top cause focusNTEEFoundations & Grantmakers (20%)

Filing history

Every return on file.

YearRevenueExpensesChangeFiling
FY2024 Latest $136K$106K+33% 990 PDF
FY2023 Viewing $103K$95K-19% 990 PDF
FY2022 $127K$96K+14% 990 PDF
FY2021 $112K$83K-2% 990 PDF
FY2020 $114K$73K 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Schedules filed Part IV

III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash

Not shown yet: ratings, outcomes, and peer benchmarks. A Form 990 doesn’t report them.

Similar organizations you could support

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Kln Foundation →

Run this organization? Claim this page

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2023IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.
Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.