Houston Endowment INC EIN 74-6013920

Houston Endowment INC

EIN  74-6013920 Private foundation / grantmaker Houston, TX
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Verified accurate 7/6/26 · see original filing: IRS
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Houston Endowment INC claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100M+
What they do
A private foundation based in Houston, TX. It reported about $160.3M in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Ann B Stern · Director, President, & CEO · $904K
Money in and out
$160.3M revenue, $122.5M expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Houston, TX. It reported about $160.3M in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2024 it reported $160.3M in revenue, $122.5M in expenses, and $2.4B in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2024
Total revenue
$160.3M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$122.5M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$2.4B
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $37.9M
Total assets
2.5B
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
94.2M
in FY2024
Grants made
355grants
total in period
Payout rate
4%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 355 grants · $99.6M · 2024–2024
Greater Houston Community FoundationFY2024$5,000,000
United Way of Greater HoustonTX · FY2024$3,000,000
Harmony Public SchoolsTX · FY2024$3,000,000
Houston Local Information Initiative INC DBA Houston LandingFY2024$2,325,000
Greater Houston Community FoundationFY2024$1,502,090
Texas Immigration Law CouncilTX · FY2024$1,400,000
Emerge FellowshipTX · FY2024$1,250,000
Harris County Public LibraryFY2024$1,169,800
Collective Action for YouthTX · FY2024$1,165,000
Houston Independent School District FoundationFY2024$1,035,000
University of HoustonFY2024$1,000,000
Trees for HoustonTX · FY2024$1,000,000
Trees for HoustonTX · FY2024$1,000,000
Texas Tech Foundation INCTX · FY2024$1,000,000
SparkFY2024$1,000,000
See all 355 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV153
Average grantPart XV$281K
Median grantPart XV$125K
Largest grantPart XV$5.0M
Top cause focusNTEEArts & Culture (14%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2024 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$160.3M
FY2024▲ +31%
Expenses
$122.5M
FY2024▼ -6%
Total assets
$2.5B
FY2024▲ +6%
Total liabilities
$113.8M
FY2024▲ +22%
Total revenue
$160.3M
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$122.5M
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$2.4B
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$2.5B

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CHouston Endowment INC
EINHdr · item D74-6013920
Principal addressHdr · item CHouston, TX
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.houstonendowment.org
State of legal domicileHdr · item MTX
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFMar 1938

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Director, President, & CEO
$903,747Pt VII · Sec A
VP, Finance
$402,000Pt VII · Sec A
VP, Programs (beginning July 2024)
$200,000Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 4 named individuals · Part VII

NameFY2024FY2021
Ann B Stern$903,747$659,200
Steven a Hartman$402,000$352,300
Lisa a Hall$368,300
Tabitha Rice$200,000

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Houston Endowment INC executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$139.5M · 87%
Other revenue$20.8M · 13%
Investment income87%$139.5M
Other revenue13%$20.8M
Total revenueLn 12$160.3M

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.77 Operating & administrative $0.23
Grants & contributions paid77%$94.2M
Operating & administrative23%$28.3M
Total functional expensesLn 25$122.5M

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$45.8M
Total assetsLn 16$2.5B
Total liabilitiesLn 26$113.8M
Total net assetsLn 32$2.4B
Months of cash on handcomputed4.5

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2024 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $2.5B
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $160.3M
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $160.3M
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $160.3M · Prior year $122.6M
+31%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $117.0M · FY2024 $160.3M
+8%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $2.4B · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $160.3M · Expenses $122.5M
+24%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $2.5B
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $2.4B · Total assets $2.5B
95%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Ann B Stern · Reported title DIRECTOR, PRESIDENT, & CEO · Highest reported compensation $904K · Total expenses $122.5M
1%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 31%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Similar Organizations

Closest in mission — by what they do
See all organizations like Houston Endowment INC →

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2024 (Latest)$160.3M revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$122.6M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$188.4M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$265.7M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$117.0M revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2024IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.